Clinical Cases
Databases
http://www.accessmedicine.com.proxy.hsc.unt.edu/caseHome.aspx
Clinical cases selected from LANGE Case Files series. Topics include anatomy, emergency medicine, microbiology, pathology, pharmacology and physiology.
Written by a physician, MDConsult's cases include questions adressing causes, differential diagnosis, history, treatment, and work-up. The cases also include links to full text reference books and journal articles.
- MEDLINE (OVID) or MEDLINE (PubMED)
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
- STAT!Ref, The 5 Minute Clinical Consult
https://proxy.hsc.unt.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Default.aspx?grpalias=TEX
This quick medical reference test includes over 1,000 topics. Written in a concise format, each topic outlines basic information including a description, genetics, incidence/prevalence, signs and symptoms, diagnosic, treatment, medication, followup, and miscellaneous information.
[To the top]
General Information
http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/category/14666.html
Over 75 cases available from the Virtual Mentor American Medical Association Journal of Ethics. Topics include abortion, disparities in health care, informed consent, obesity, among others.
http://clinicalcases.blogspot.com/
Maintained by physicians at the Cleveland Clinic and Case Western Reserve University, this well organized site provides access to a a variety of cases and includes links to imaging and a procedure guide.
http://www.emedicine.com/cases.htm
This popular website from WebMD provides imaging, ECG, radiograph and clinical pearl cases.
http://www.escardio.org/bodies/associations/EAE/CasePortal/
This site contains an image gallery as well as clinical cases in echocardiography.
http://www.mic.ki.se/MEDCASES.html
Compiled by Sweden's Karolinska Institutet, this metasite provides case studies and grand rounds for a variety of medical systems and specialties.
Note: Website registration required for some links.
http://www.medscape.com/index/section_1668_0
Interative clinical cases are presented with images and questions for discussion.
Note: Website registration required for some links.
[To the top]
Research Assistance
- Ask-A-Librarian
Ask-a-Librarian is an email service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty. Other individuals may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library's Reference Office. Normally, requests are filled within one working day on Monday through Friday. Exceptions will be made for holidays and school closings.
- Lewis Library Reference Office - 817-735-2070
The reference office is open from 8:00am to 5:00pm, Monday - Friday. The office is closed on school holidays.
[To the top]
|
|
 |
|
|