Environmental & Occupational Health
Books and Media in the Lewis Library - Environmental Health
Books and Media in the Lewis Library - Occupational Health
Databases
Fact Sheets / Statistics
General Information
Professional Organizations
Research Assistance
Databases
- AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access)
http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&PAGE=bbSearch&STARTDB=AGRIDB
AGRICOLA
is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library of the United States. The records describe publications and resources in agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aqua culture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
- Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR)
http://cedr.lbl.gov/
The Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR) is a Department of Energy (DOE) public-use repository of data from occupational and environmental health studies of workers at DOE facilities and nearby community residents. DOE is the federal agency responsible for the development, testing, and production of nuclear weapons.
- Environmental Fate Database (EFDB)
http://www.syrres.com/esc/efdb.htm
From Syracuse Research Corporation, this database includes Datalog (envirnomental fate data), BIOLOG (microbial toxicity and biodegradation data), CHEMFATE (environmental fate and physical/chemical property information on commercially important chemical compounds) , BIODEG (experimental values relating to biodegradation subjects), and BIODEG Summary (summary evaluation and reliabailty codes for different test methods & summaries for biodegradabilty under aerobic and anaerobic conditions.
- MEDLINE (OVID)
http://library.hsc.unt.edu/ovid/
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
- Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET®)
http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/
An integrated system of toxicology and environmental health databases that are available free of charge on the web. Databases include ChemIDplus, Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), TOXLINE, Chemical Carcinogenic Research Information System (CCRIS), Developmental & Reproductive Toxicology & Environmental Teratology Information Center (DART), GENETOX - Peer-reviewed mutagenicity test data from the Environmental Protection Agency, Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), ITER, LactMed, TRI, Haz-Map, Household Products, and TOXMAP.
- Web of Knowledge
http://portal.isiknowledge.com.proxy.hsc.unt.edu/portal.cgi?Init=Yes&SID=C1dHmGn@4JeP7Pj8jcf
The Web of Knowledge from Thomson Scientific (formerly ISI) is the portal to the company’s scientific literature search products such as BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents, Journal Citation Reports, and the Science Citation Index (i.e, the Web of Science). You can perform cross-database searching of those resources using the Web of Knowledge interface or you can go directly to the specific tools using the links found on this web page.
[To the top]
Fact Sheets / Statistics
- Envirofacts Data Warehouse
http://www.epa.gov/enviro/
Information from the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Information can be accessed by zip code, city, county or state. Topics include waste, water, toxins, air, radiation, and land. Information can be in the form of reports, queries, or maps.
- National Center for Health Statistics
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/osh.htm
Work-related injury / occupational injury information from the CDC. Topics include health care use, mortality, injury and death rates by industry, sex, age, and race.
- Worker Health Chartbook
http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/docs/chartbook/
Presented by the National Institute for Occupational Satiety& Health (NIOSH) by national or state statistics. Topics include characteristics, fatal and nonfatal injuries, agriculture, high-risk industries and occupations, special populations, survey and surveillance programs, and data and analysis.
[To the top]
General Information
- Enviro-Health Links
http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro/envirohealthlinks.html
Selected links from the National Library of Medicine to resources on toxicology and environmental health issues. Topics include American Indian health, Arctic health, arsenic and human health, Asian American health, biological warfare, children's environmental health, dietary supplements, environmental justice, hurricanes, lead and human health, outdoor air pollution, pesticide exposure, toxicogenomics, and West Nile Virus.
- Environmental Health & Toxicology
http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro.html
Portal for the National Library of Medicine Specialized Information Services (SIS) pages. Topics include chemicals, drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, toxicology, and pesticide exposure.
- Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)
http://www.osha.gov/index.html
OSHA is a part of the United States Department of Labor. Topics include news, current occupational health related events, compliance assistance, laws, regulations and enforcement, cooperative and state programs, statistics, maritime, hazard communication, ergonomics, and other health and safety issues.
- Texas Environmental Profiles
http://www.texasep.org/index.html
County profiles of values, state rankings, and links for over 50 indicators of environmental quality, including water quality and quantity, land, wildlife, biodiversity, air quality, waste, energy, and pesticides
- United States-Mexico Border Health Commission
http://www.borderhealth.org/index.php
This site covers a variety of topics related to health and the quality of life along the U.S.-Mexico border. Emergency preparedness, epidemics, statistics, and a webliography of related sites are some of the features of this website. The border states of California, Arizona, New Mexico and Texas, along with the Mexico states are included.
[To the top]
Professional Organizations
[To the top]
Research Assistance
- Ask-a-Librarian
Ask-a-Librarian is an email service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty. Other individuals may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library's Reference Office. Normally, requests are filled within one working day on Monday through Friday. Exceptions will be made for holidays and school closings.
|
- Lewis Library Reference Office - 817-735-2070
The reference office is open from 8:00am to 5:00pm, Monday - Friday. The office is closed on school holidays.
[To the top]
|