- MEDLINE (OVID) or MEDLINE (PubMED)
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
- National Guidelines Clearinghouse (NGC)
http://www.guidelines.gov/
Sponsored by the AHRQ, this Web site provides evidence-based clinical practice guidelines with recommendations, strategies and other information that assists healthcare providers in making appropriate healthcare decisions.
- Population information onLINE - POPLINE® (POPulation information onLINE)
http://db.jhuccp.org/ics-wpd/popweb/
The world's largest database on reproductive health, provides more than 300,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population law & policy, family planning, primary health care and related health issues. Numerous special features including free, fulltext documents, and ability to limit to peer-reviewed journal articles. Excellent source of demographic and public health information, including for developing countries.
- Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET®)
http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/
TOXNET is an integrated system of toxicology and environmental health databases that are available free of charge on the web. Databases include ChemIDplus, Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), TOXLINE, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), Developmental & Reproductive Toxicology & Environmental Teratology Information Center (DART), GENETOX - Peer-reviewed mutagenicity test data from the Environmental Protection Agency, Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), ITER, LactMed, TRI, Haz-Map, Household Products, and TOXMAP.
- United States Government Publications Catalog (CGP)
http://catalog.gpo.gov/F
A finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
- Web of Knowledge
http://portal.isiknowledge.com.proxy.hsc.unt.edu/portal.cgi?Init=Yes&SID=E1gccLL9ai2bEhKnOal
The Web of Knowledge from Thomson Scientific (formerly ISI) is the portal to the company’s scientific literature search products such as BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents, Journal Citation Reports, and the Science Citation Index (i.e, the Web of Science). You can perform cross-database searching of those resources using the Web of Knowledge interface or you can go directly to the specific tools using the links found on this web page.
[to the top]
Fact Sheets / Statistics
- HEALTHmap
http://www.healthmap.org/
HEALTHmap brings together disparate data sources to achieve a unified and comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health.
[to the top]
General Information
- CDC EpiInfo
http://www.cdc.gov/epiinfo/
Epi Info™ is a public domain software package designed for the global community of public health practitioners and researchers. It provides for easy form and database construction, data entry, and analysis with epidemiologic statistics, maps, and graphs.
- Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/
The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) Series is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). The data in the weekly MMWR are provisional, based on weekly reports to CDC by state health departments. The reporting week concludes at close of business on Friday; compiled data on a national basis are officially released to the public on the succeeding Friday.
- National Notifiable Infectious Diseases Surveillance System
http://www.cdc.gov/epo/dphsi/phs/infdis.htm
From the CDC by act of Congress, this list is published yearly and is the collection and compliation of data for publication at the national level. The list
is revised periodically. For example, a disease may be added to the list as a new pathogen emerges, or a disease may be deleted as its incidence declines. Public health officials at state health departments and CDC continue to collaborate in determining which diseases should be nationally notifiable; CSTE, with input from CDC, makes recommendations annually for additions and deletions to the list of nationally notifiable diseases. However, reporting of nationally notifiable diseases to CDC by the states is voluntary. Reporting is currently mandated (i.e., by state legislation or regulation) only at the state level. The list of diseases that are considered notifiable, therefore, varies slightly by state. All states generally report the internationally quarantinable diseases (i.e., cholera, plague, and yellow fever) in compliance with the World Health Organization's International Health Regulations. Summaries for the years 2000 - 2007 can be found at this website.
[to the top]
Research Assistance
- Ask-A-Librarian
Ask-a-Librarian is an email service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty. Other individuals may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library's Reference Office. Normally, requests are filled within one working day on Monday through Friday. Exceptions will be made for holidays and school closings.
- Reference Office - 817-735-2070
The reference office is open from 8:00am to 5:00pm, Monday - Friday. The office is closed on school holidays.
[to the top]
|
|
 |
|
|