Gibson D. Lewis Health Science Library

 Hours  |  Directions/Parking  |  Help/FAQ  |  Forms  |  Policies  |  About Us  |  Contact Us  |  UNTHSC  |  UNT

Today's Hours Are: 7:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Tuesday, May 13, 2008
 

Evidence-Based Medicine

 

Books and Media in the Lewis Library
Databases
General Information

Glossary

Professional Organizations and Associations

Research Assistance

Databases
  • ACP Journal Club

http://library.hsc.unt.edu  Click on "All Databases"

Reviews individual studies offering valuable information to internists.  Offers summary statements and commentary by clinical experts.  Includes reviews from the print publications ACP Journal Club and Evidence-Based Medicine; in the Americas, the ACP Journal Club absorbed the contents of Evidence-Based Medicine beginning in January 2000.  Also available at http://www.acpjc.org/shared/past_issues.htm 

Print issues are shelved with the Annals of Internal Medicine on library’s third floor; older issues are bound in hard covers with the Annals of Internal Medicine

  • Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials

http://library.hsc.unt.edu  Click on "All Databases"

Offers over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care.  Includes studies published in MEDLINE, EMBASE, and other bibliographic databases.  Covers reports published in conference proceedings and other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE.

  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

http://library.hsc.unt.edu  Click on "All Databases"

Offers reviews which synthesize and summarize the results of numerous studies on a topic. Produced by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international network having the goal of preparing and distributing reviews of clinical topics; part of the Cochrane Library. Reviews stay in the database permanently and topics are periodically “re-reviewed.” 

  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)

http://library.hsc.unt.edu  Click on "All Databases"

Offers structured abstracts of reviews of the effectiveness of clinical interventions.  Compiled in Great Britain by the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination. Affiliated with the Cochrane Collaboration and part of the Cochrane Library. Also available directly from the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at http://www.york.ac.uk/inst/crd/crddatabases.htm

  • MEDLINE (Ovid)

http://library.hsc.unt.edu/ovid/
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains: bibliographic citations and author abstracts, more than 4,600 biomedical journals, United States and 70 other countries of publication, from 1966 to present. Please note: EBM Reviews limit may be applied to searches.

http://pubmedhh.nlm.nih.gov/nlm/pico/piconew.html

  • POEMs (Patient-Oriented Evidence that Matters)

http://library.hsc.unt.edu Click on Electronic Journals / Journal of Family Practice

Searchable database of structured abstracts of articles important to primary care physicians. Designed to allow physicians to quickly grasp a study’s implication for medical practice.  Each POEMs review ends with a section entitled “Recommendations for Clinical Practice.”  Also available in each monthly print issue of the Journal of Family PracticePOEMs are a product of the InfoPOEMs company and appear in several publications and in an electronic product called InfoRetriever.  More information about POEMs can be found at http://www.infopoems.com

http://sumsearch.uthscsa.edu/

SUMSearch is an Internet search engine for medical knowledge developed at the UT Health Science Center by Dr. Robert Badgett. It selects the best resources among several full-text books and biomedical databases for the question, formats the question for each resource, and makes additional searches based on results.

  • TRIP Database (Turning Research Into Practice)

http://www.tripdatabase.com

Provides links to nearly 30,000 items from about 70 sources for evidence-based medicine. Includes links to items found in other sources listed in this subject guide along with links to articles from high quality journals such as JAMA and BMJ.

[To the top]


General Information

 

  • Bandolier

http://www.jr2.ox.ac.uk/Bandolier/

Distills information from published reviews of clinical trials.  Offers advice about treatments and diseases for both medical professionals and consumers.  Produced by a pain research group affiliated with Oxford University

  • Duke University Medical Center Library

http://www.mclibrary.duke.edu/subject/ebm?tab=overview
Duke has created several helpful evidence-based medicine online tutorials.

  • National Guideline Clearinghouse

http://www.guideline.gov

Searchable site offering structured summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.  Allows for side-by-side comparison of similar guidelines from different organizations.  Provides citations to each guideline’s original source and links to electronic full-text if possible. Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.

Glossary

http://www.jr2.ox.ac.uk/Bandolier/glossary.html

http://www.cebm.net/index.aspx?o=1116

[To the top]

Professional Organizations and Associations

  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

http://www.ahrq.gov/

Comprehensive web site from the United States Department of Health & Human Services. Includes evidence-based practice reports, guidelines and research.

  • Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine

http://www.cebm.net/
From Oxford, this site promotes learning, practicing and teaching evidence-based medicine.  It outlines the levels of evidence.  A glossary is available as well as descriptions of study designs.  Several downloads are available.

  • Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD)

http://www.york.ac.uk/inst/crd/index.htm

Promoting the use of research-based knowledge, CRD is part of the University of York, England.  This site includes databases, training materials, and an extensive list of evidence-based medicine web sites.

  • Cochrane Collaboration

http://www.cochrane.org/

Founded in 1993, this international not-for-profit organization produces content for the Cochrane Library and Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

[To the top]

Research Assistance

  • Ask-A-Librarian
    Ask-a-Librarian is an email service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty. Other individuals may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library's Reference Office. Normally, requests are filled within one working day on Monday through Friday. Exceptions will be made for holidays and school closings.
  • Reference Office - 817-735-2070
    The reference office is open from 8:00am to 5:00pm, Monday - Friday. The office is closed on school holidays.

 


[To the top]

 

 

Home
Search this site