Health & Medical Statistics
Books and Media in the Lewis Library
General Information
Research Assistance
Statistics by Geographic Location
Statistics by Selected Topics
General Information
http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/
Prepared by the CDC and updated weekly, the MMWR contains data submitted by state health departments on morbidity of notifiable diseases, mortality (weekly reports are available from 122 cities and metropolitan areas in the United States), and surveillance findings. Keyword searching is possible with year limits found on the advanced search page.
This website is a single point of access to a data and reports on a wide variety of public health topics including demographic data, births and deaths, occupational health, environmental health, communicable and chronic diseases.
http://www.lib.umd.edu/MCK/GUIDES/health_statistics.html
This guide provides sources for health and medical statistics that may be found on the Internet. Sources and strategies for finding print sources of health statistics may be found at the end of the guide.
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/datawh/nchsdefs/list.htm
Alphabetical listing of many of the terms used in statistics and on the National Center for Health Statistics site. Also links to the CDC Glossary of Epidemiology Terms.
Comprehensive website that includes statistical information on a range of topics including demographics and ecomony, health status, health coverage and uninsured, medicaid and medicare, health costs, HIV/AIDS, minority and women's health. Individual state profiles are available as well as 50 state comparisons.
Glossary of many statistical terms. This listing also includes a synopsis of many government programs and laws conserning patient care.
DOS application with required download. Epidemiological analysis includes estimation/testing, sample size/power, probability distributions, mathematics/combinatorics, and data description.
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/
Provides health statistics documenting the health status of the United States population, disparities concerning race/ethnicity, socio-economic status, region, and other population characteristics, measures accessibility of health care, and charts trends in health care and health status.
SETS allows users to manipulate data on their computers. Downloads may be required. SETS contains data on aging, births, deaths, and health care and service utilization.
This website provides access to statistical information on a variety of topics. It also lists directories, organizations, newsletter, and the latest news relating to health statistics.
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stats.html
List of statistical websites on a wide range of health topics.
Includes social science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, and gateways.
[To the top]
Statistics by Geographic Location
Dallas & Tarrant County:
http://www.analyzedallas.org/AnalyzeDallas/Default.aspx
Topics include civic health, crime, economy, education, housing and health.
- Dallas Indicators
http://dallasindicators.org/
Provides data demographics, arts, culture, civil health, crime, safety, economy, education, environment, health, housing, science, technology, and transportation. Separate section on children and youth.
-
Fort Worth Department of Health
http://www.fortworthgov.org/publichealth/default.aspx?id=588
Topics covered include public health, animal care and control, bioterrism, consumer health, epidemiology, health education, and outreach services.
-
SMART: Selected Metropolitan/Micropolitan Area Risk Trends
http://apps.nccd.cdc.gov/brfss-smart/index.asp
Categories include asthma, exercise, oral health, tobacco use, weight control, and many others. Data is available for over 35 Texas Counties.
The Community Assessment link provides a detailed picutre of community strengths and human service needs from a survey and questionnaire. The county was divided into 16 geographic regions so responses could be compared among diverse areas.
[To the top]
Texas:
-
The BRFSS contains state data for a number of conditions. GIS maps compare local, state, and national health risks.
Comparison charts for Texas and United States in the areas of overall cases, lung cancer, colorectal cancer, breast cancer, and prostate cancer.
-
http://www.sph.uth.tmc.edu/charting/
A comprehensive collection of links to publicly available, geographically discrete health data for the state of Texas from reliable and authoritative providers of information.
[To the top]
National:
-
http://www.whitehouse.gov/news/fsbr.html
Latest federal statistics on economics, crime, education, demographics, and health.
-
http://www.aecf.org/kidscount/sld/databook.jsp
Contains state-level data for over 75 measures of child well-being education, health, health insurance, family characteristics, immigrant children, poverty, and youth risk factors.
-
http://www.nimh.nih.gov/healthinformation/statisticsmenu.cfm
Statistics from the National Institutes of Health. Topics include children, prevalence of mental disorders, and suicide statistics.
- State Health Facts
http://www.statehealthfacts.kff.org/cgi-bin/healthfacts.cgi
Data from the Kaiser Network. Topics include demographics, economy, health status, health coverage & the underinsured, medicaid, medicare, health costs, managed care, minority health and women's health.
[To the top]
International:
-
http://www.who.int/whosis/en/
The most recent statistics from the World Health Organizations 192 member states. Topics include core health indicators, mortality and health status, disease statistics, health systems, risk factors and health service coverages, and inequities in health.
[To the top]
Research Assistance
- Ask-a-librarian
Ask-a-Librarian is an email service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty. Other individuals may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library's Reference Office. Normally, requests are filled within one working day on Monday through Friday. Exceptions will be made for holidays and school closings.
- Lewis Library Reference Office - 817-735-2070
The reference office is open from 8:00am to 5:00pm, Monday - Friday. The office is closed on school holidays.
[To the top]
|