Osteopathic Medicine
Books and Media in the Lewis Library
Databases
Fact Sheets / Statistics
General Information
Professional Organizations / Associations, Foundations and Societies
Professional Organizations / Specialty Academies and Colleges
Research Assistance
Databases
- Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature (CINAHL)
CINAHL indexes more than 2,900 journals in allied health and nursing, including some osteopathic journals. Coverage also includes selected health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software, and audiovisuals. Contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981. For hints on searching osteopathic literature in CINAHL, see the Osteopathic Medicine Search Strategy page.
- Early American Manual Therapy
http://www.meridianinstitute.com/eamt/files/contents.htm
A collection of over 50 full-text early osteopathic and chiropractic manipulation books. It includes the Autobiography of A.T. Still.
Bibliography created by the Librarian's Reference Librarians. Items indexed in MedLINE or OSTMED® are not included. The bibliography is updated monthly. For hints on searching OstBib, see the Osteopathic Medicine Search Strategy page.
2005-2009
2000-2004
1990-1999
1950-1989
[To the Top]
Fact Sheets / Statistics
[To the Top]
General Information
OsteopathicTerminologyGlossary.pdf
The glossary is prepared by the Educational Council on Osteopathic Principles. It contains often used words, terms and phrases of the osteopathic profession.
- Inter Linea
http://www.interlinea.org/
Inter Linea began in 1999 as The Journal of Osteopathic Philosophy. It ended publication in 2002 after 12 issues. This website is the latest incarnation of Inter Linea.
[To the Top]
Professional Organizations / Associations, Foundations, & Societies
- DOCARE International
http://www.docareintl.org/
A medical outreach organization, DOCARE's primary objective is to bring needed health care to primitive and isolated people in remote areas of Western Hemisphere countries. Other service areas have been and may be included in the future including responding to disasters in our own country.
[To the Top]
Professional Organization / Specialty Academies & Colleges
[To the Top]
Research Assistance
-
Ask-a-Librarian
Ask-a-Librarian is an e-mail service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Normally, requests are filled within one working day (Monday through Friday, excluding holidays and other campus closings). Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty; other patrons may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library Reference Office.
- Lewis Library Reference Office - Room LIB-222; 817-735-2070 or 800-687-5302
Librarians are available to provide research assistance between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday-Friday. The office is closed on UNTHSC holidays.
[To the Top]
|