Gibson D. Lewis Health Science Library

 Hours  |  Directions/Parking  |  Help/FAQ  |  Forms  |  Policies  |  About Us  |  Contact Us  |  UNTHSC  |  UNT

Today's Hours Are: 7:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Tuesday, May 13, 2008
 

PDA Resources

Books and Media in the Lewis Library
Calculators & Medical Reference Tools
Glossary of Terms for Mobile Technology Devices
Practice Guidelines
Databases
Drug Information & Rx Tools
FAQs & Tutorials
Other PDA Web Sites
Professional Organizations and Associations
Research Assistance

*Required PDA Purchases for TCOM - Skyscape

*Skyscape Support / FAQs / Product Guides

 

Calculators & Medical Reference Tools 

http://aidsinfo.nih.gov/PDATools/Default.aspx?MenuItem=AIDSinfoTools
Access to a number of downloads, including an antiretroviral therapy-associated adverse effects tool, HIV/AIDs glossary, and treatment guidelines.

http://hp2010.nhlbihin.net/bmi_palm.htm

BMI calculator and treatment guidelines for overweight and obesity in adults from the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute.

http://books.mcgraw-hill.com/medical/diagnosaurus/index.html

Contains over 1,000 differential diagnoses.  Users may search by symptom, disease or organ system.

http://www.cebm.utoronto.ca/palm/ebmcalc/

From the Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine, the EBM Calculator can be used to calculate statistics for a variety of study types (Palm version).  Additional tools and versions can be found in the Handheld Resources section at http://www.cebm.utoronto.ca/index.htm

This site provides access to numerous evidence-based medicine books, formularies, guidelines, and tools.

http://www.med-ia.ch/medcalc/
Includes over eighty formulas and clinical scores that are used in used in anesthesiology, pediatrics, emergency, intensive care and internal medicine.


http://www.medicalmnemonics.com/

Medical mnemonics made portable for the PDA.  Users can search by biological system, discipline, or part of the body.

http://www.merckmedicus.com/pp/us/hcp/templates/tier2/PDAtools.jsp

This site provides access to the Merck Manual, Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Harrison's Practice-Answers on Demand, Reuters Medical News, and treatment guidelines.

http://www.pocketscience.biz/Products.aspx

Based on the book, Pocket OMT Manual - The Stiles Approach by Edward G. Stiles, DO, Pocket OMT, covers a full range of osteopathic musculoskeletal techniques. The program features all major treatment modalities; all major anatomical regions; complete description of all major diagnoses; and additional topics. Pocket OMT is searchable by topic and bodily dysfunction-returning diagnostic and treatment information with images.

http://www.immunizationed.org/

Quick reference guide to childhood and adult immunization schedules.

http://www.stacworks.com/

Provides access to several calculators: ABGPro, PregTrak, Pedi-Table that includes pediatric dosing information.

http://www.statcoder.com/

Billing and coding tools are available.  This site also includes access to CDC growth charts and clinical calculators for blood pressure, cholesterol, stroke risk, hypertension, and more.

http://www.ars.usda.gov/Services/docs.htm?docid=5720

A database that calculates calories, carbohydrates, cholesterol, minerals, and vitamins for foods.

[To the top]

Glossary of Terms for Mobile Technology Devices

http://www.palm.com/us/products/basics/glossary/
A-Z list of useful terms to know for Palm users.

Practice Guidelines

http://www.guideline.gov/resources/pda.aspx

Summaries available from the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents.

http://www.cdcnpin.org/scripts/std/pda.asp

CDC Sexually Transmitted Diseases Treatment Guidelines 2004.

http://hp2010.nhlbihin.net/obgdpalm.htm
OEI treatment guidelines from the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute.  BMI calculator is also available.

[To the top]

Databases

http://hsclibrary.hsc.unt.edu:6060/airpac/jsp/airpacIndex.jsp
Search for books and media at Lewis Library.

National Library of Medicine

  • NCBI Bookshelf

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query/Books.live/Help/mobile.html

[To the top]

Drug Information & Rx Tools

http://www.bluefishrx.com/index.htm

Suite of Palm based software  that includes a prescription writer, ICD-9 and CTP coding tools.

http://www.skyscape.com/estore/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductId=1189

Free drug interaction tool from Skyscape.  Checks for adverse interaction for up to 16 drugs.

http://www.epocrates.com/

Compatible mobile software that includes drug information, diagnostics, dictionary, and a variety of forumulas and calculators. 

http://www.iscribe.com/     

Palm and web-based tool that enables users to perform a formulary search, check for drug interactions, and review treatment guidelines. The patient education section includes drug monographs and pictures.

http://hopkins-abxguide.org/download_center/download_center.cfm

Diagnosis and treatment information about infectious diseases. Searchable by diagnosis, pathogen or antiobiotic.


http://www.skyscape.com/estore/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductId=946

Drug alerts for the mobile device provided by the FDA/CDER/Office of Drug Safety. This free software also includes recalls, safety alerts,  withdrawals, and labeling changes for over-the-counter and prescription drugs.

http://www.pdr.net/home/home.aspx

ICD-9 codes, clinical guidelines, multi-drug interaction checker, and patient education tools are free to medical students, PAs, and physicians with registration.

http://www.prescribingreference.com/index/download

Free download for Microsoft compatible handheld devices.  MPR allows users to search 3000 drug monographs by brand name, generic name, manufacturer, or therapeutic categories. Drug news is also available as well as prescribing notes and clinical charts.

[To the top]

FAQs & Tutorials

http://www.amsa.org/resource/pda.cfm
This site has common questions and answers about handheld devices, written by and targeted at medical students.  It has suggested software and overviews of systems.

http://reviews.cnet.com/4520-11309_7-6624304-1.html?tag=lnav

A useful site for students who are looking to buy a handheld.  This quick guide discusses the different operating systems and includes a buying guide. Cnet also offers reviews of cell phones, PDAs, and other technology.


http://www.palm.com/us/products/basics/functions/

A great site for Palm users that gives an overview of what their products can do.  It includes comparison charts for smart phones and handhelds, a beginners primer, and standard device features lists.

http://www.pdamd.com/vertical/tutorials.xml

A buyer's guide and how-to guides, such as installing and downloading software, are described on this web site

http://palmtops.about.com/od/pda101/PDAs_for_Beginners.htm

Topics include a PDA glossary, buyer's guide, learning center for Palm and Pocket PC devices, links to related web sites, and reviews of handheld devices.

http://www.mclibrary.duke.edu/training/pda

Guide from Duke University Medical Center Library that outlines advanced functions including beaming your business card and projecting your PDA.  It also has a contains a getting started section as well as recommended software.

http://www.doctorsgadgets.com/the-doctors-pda-and-smartphone-handbook/

Online video tutorials for commonly used PDA functions including the address book, notes, and security.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsmobile/default.mspx

A must for For Pocket PC users.  The Windows Mobile site provides help, product reviews, tips and tricks.

[To the top]

Other PDA Web Sites

http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2_mobile.html


http://www.avantgo.com/frontdoor/index.html

Free mobile news source for Palm, PocketPC and smartphones.


http://www.google.com/xhtml

Google for the mobile device.

http://www.google.com/gmm/index.html
Mobile maps for Palm and PocketPC.

http://www.healthypalmpilot.com/

Over 800 diagnosis, intervention, health & fitness, interventions, record tracking, reference and research tools available for download.

http://palmdoc.net/

Created by a group of physicians, this site list "Must have applications," "best free PDA applications,"   as well as general and specialty medicine links.

http://www.pdacortex.com/index.htm

Well organized site with links to calculators, coding/billing, document readers, patient tracking, reference, study aids, and more.

http://www.dcchildrens.com/pdas/home.aspx

Created by a resident, this site contains helpful information on handheld basics and software reviews for a number of categories such as dosing calculators, drug reference, laboratory guides, surgery, and more.

http://www.palmgear.com/

Source of Palm software that includes a medical category.

http://www.pocketgear.com/
Source of software for PocketPC that includes health and medical professional categories.  Users can sort by price in order to identify freeware.

http://www.pocketgear.com/software_detail.asp?id=19013

Username and password keeper for the Pocket PC.


http://palmsource.palmgear.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=software.showsoftware&prodid=37832

Free conversion software.

http://www.msbsoftware.ch/yaps.html

Encrypted software that helps you manage those endless usernames and passwords.

[To the top]

Professional Organizations and Associations

http://www.acponline.org/pda/index.html

Physicians' Information and Education Resource (PIER) now available on PDA for ACP members.

http://www.fppda.com/
Software, tutorials and other suggestions from a family physician in private practice, Dr. Tim Allen.

[To the top]

Research Assistance

  • Ask-a-Librarian
    Ask-a-Librarian is an email service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty. Other individuals may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library's Reference Office. Normally, requests are filled within one working day on Monday through Friday. Exceptions will be made for holidays and school closings.

  • Lewis Library Reference Office - 817-735-2070
    The reference office is open from 8:00am to 5:00pm, Monday - Friday. The office is closed on school holidays.

[To the top]

Lewis Librarians would like to thank

Student Dr. Clearfield for his PDA web site recommendations.

Home
Search this site