Practice Guidelines
Databases
- AccessMedicine
https://proxy.hsc.unt.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com
An online source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2007 is one of the many textbooks offered.
- Health Services Technology/Assessment Texts
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?rid=hstat
HSTAT is a free, Web-based resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health care decision making. HSTAT's audience includes health care providers, health service researchers, policy makers, payers, consumers and the information professionals who serve these groups.
- MDConsult
https://proxy.hsc.unt.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com
One of the premier clinical resources, MDConsult is a searchable, full-text collection of 40 medical textbooks organized by specialty, 1,000 practice guidelines, 3,500 patient education handouts, drug information, CME, and news. Articles from over 50 clinical journals are also included.
Login/password required.
- MEDLINE (OVID) or MEDLINE (PubMED)
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
http://www.guideline.gov/
The National Guideline Clearinghouse is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. The NCG is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
[To the top]
Professional Organizations and Associations
Between 1992 and 1996, the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (now the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality) sponsored development of a series of 19 clinical practice guidelines. Each guideline has several versions as listed: Clinical Practice Guidelines, Quick Reference Guides for Clinicians, and Consumer Versions (English and Spanish). The Clinical Practice Guidelines Archive are maintained for archival purposes only.
http://aidsinfo.nih.gov/guidelines/
The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) issues guidelines documents for the medical management of HIV infection and issues surrounding HIV infection. The guidelines documents are periodically reviewed and updated by panels of HIV experts.
http://aappolicy.aappublications.org/
The AAP Policy website provides links to evidence-based decision-making tools for managing common pediatric conditions in three categories: AAP Practice Guidelines, Endorsed Guidelines, and Affirmed Guidelines.
http://www.rcjournal.com/online_resources/cpgs/cpg_index.asp
The AARC provides evidence-based and expert panel clinical practice guidelines in .html and .pdf formats.
http://www.acc.org/qualityandscience/clinical/statements.htm
Free access to and downloading of guidelines available, including Pocket Guidelines and PDA resources.
http://www.acg.gi.org/physicians/clinicalupdates.asp#guidelines
The ACG offers Clinical Updates through practice guidelines and research published in The American Journal of Gastroenterology and Nature Clinical Practice Gastroenterology & Hepatology.
http://www.awhonn.org/awhonn/content.do?name=02_PracticeResources/
02_PracticeResources_landing.htm
AWHONN's Practice Resources include clinical updates, position statements, standards and guidelines.
http://www.cmaj.ca/misc/service/guidelines.shtml
CMAJ is a general medical journal publishing original research and review articles, and practice updates, as well as clinical practice guidelines organized by topic.
http://www.txpsych.org/practiceguidelines.htm
The Federation of Texas Psychiatry unites Texas' professional psychiatric organizations, including the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association and the Texas Medical Association, and represents about 45,000 physicians in Texas united in advocacy for patients and quality psychiatric care.
http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/guidelines/index.htm
NHLBI's website provides clinical practice guidelines for selected topics including asthma and cholesterol.
[To the top]
Research Assistance
[To the top]
|
|
 |
|
|