Public Health
Research Assistance
Databases
-
Academic Search Complete
Full-text articles from over 4,000 peer-reviewed, academic journals in all subject areas. From the early 1990's, some from 1975.
-
AgeLine
http://www.aarp.org/research/ageline/
Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons, the database contains detailed summaries of publications about older adults & agining. It includes books, journals, research reports, videos, and articles.
Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&PAGE=bbSearch&STARTDB=AGRIDB
AGRICOLA
is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library of the United States. The records describe publications and resources in agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
-
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature
https://proxy.hsc.unt.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/ login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid,&profile=ehost&defaultdb=c8h
CINAHL indexes more than
2,900 journals in allied health and nursing, as well as health care books,
nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards
of professional practice, educational software, and audiovisuals.
It contains
more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
Besides nursing, subject areas include physician assistant
literature, public health, emergency services, medical records,
alternative/complementary medicine, social work, and many
others. Full text is available for nearly 600 journals, and cited references are searchable for more than 1,200.
-
ClinicalTrials.gov
http://clinicaltrials.gov/
ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
-
CRISP
(Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects)
http://crisp.cit.nih.gov/
A searchable database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions.
The database, maintained by the Office of Extramural Research at the National Institutes of Health, includes projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMHSA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDCP), Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ), and Office of Assistant Secretary of Health (OASH).
Bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature, journals, books, and dissertations. EconLit covers both economic theory and application.
-
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
https://proxy.hsc.unt.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/ login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hpi
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides access to information about behavioral measurement instruments in the health sciences and psychosocial sciences, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, and tests. Instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education are also included. Covers 1985 to present.
-
Health Services Research Projects in Progress (HSRProj)
http://wwwcf.nlm.nih.gov/hsr_project/home_proj.cfm
HSRProj contains descriptions of health services research in progress, providing access to information about research before results are available in a published form. Records cover both grants and contracts awarded by major public and private funding agencies and foundations. Users of HSRProj can retrieve names of performing and sponsoring agencies, names and addresses of principal investigators, beginning and ending years of the projects, information about study design and methodology (including demographic characteristics of the study group), number of subjects in the study population, population base of the study sample, and source of the project data. Project descriptions are included whenever possible.
-
International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS)
http://grande.nal.usda.gov/ibids/index.php
IBIDS is a database of over 730,000 citations from 1986 to the present on the topic of dietary supplements. The scope of IBIDS includes the use and function of supplements in human nutrition, the role of nutrient supplementation in metabolism in normal nutrition and disease states, animal studies that relate to the function of dietary supplements in human nutrition, chemical composition, biochemical roles, and antioxidant activity of botanical and nutrient supplements, fortification of foods with supplemental nutrients and health-related effects, nutrient composition of herbal and botanical products, surveys on dietary supplement use by various populations, and the growth and production of herbal and botanical products used as dietary supplements.
-
MEDLINE (OVID)
http://library.hsc.unt.edu/ovid/
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains: bibliographic citations and author abstracts, more than 4,600 biomedical journals, United States and 70 other countries of publication, from 1966 to present.
- National Technical Information Service
http://www.ntis.gov/
The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information. There is information on more than 600,000 information products covering over 350 subject areas from over 200 federal agencies.
-
Population information onLINE - POPLINE® (POPulation information onLINE)
http://db.jhuccp.org/ics-wpd/popweb/
The world's largest database on reproductive health, provides more than 300,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population law & policy, family planning, primary health care and related health issues. Numerous special features including free, fulltext documents, and ability to limit to peer-reviewed journal articles. Excellent source of demographic and public health information, including for developing countries.
-
PsycINFO - (Access through OVID)
http://library.hsc.unt.edu/ovid/default.cfm
PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,500 periodicals written in over 35 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 60,000 references are added annually through weekly updates.
- REHABDATA
http://www.naric.com/research/rehab/
REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 65,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection span 1956 to the present.
-
Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET®)
http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/
TOXNET is
an integrated system of toxicology and environmental health databases that are available free of charge on the web. Databases include ChemIDplus, Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), TOXLINE, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), Developmental & Reproductive Toxicology & Environmental Teratology Information Center (DART), GENETOX - Peer-reviewed mutagenicity test data from the Environmental Protection Agency, Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), ITER, LactMed, TRI, Haz-Map, Household Products, and TOXMAP.
page_show_main.php?home=true&lang=en&form=simple
Contains links to many global databases including the Latin American & Caribbean Health Service (LILACS), Literature on Adolescence Health (ADOLEC), and World Health Organization Library (WHOLIS).
The Web of Knowledge from Thomson Scientific (formerly ISI) is the portal to the company’s scientific literature search products such as BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents, Journal Citation Reports, and the Science Citation Index (i.e, the Web of Science). You can perform cross-database searching of those resources using the Web of Knowledge interface, or you can go directly to the specific tools using the links found on this page.
[To the top]
Fact Sheets / Statistics
-
Agency for Health Care Quality Research & Quality (AHRQ)
http://www.ahrq.gov/data/
Data & Surveys Index Page - Provides links to information developed by the AHRQ including the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) and the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) HCUP databases are a resourceof discharge-level health care data. MEPS produces nationally representative statistics on health care expenses.
-
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
http://www.cdc.gov/brfss/
The BRFSS tracks health risks in the U.S. Information from a telephone survey is used to chart the health of the American people. BRFSS data is used to create policies and initatives to meet health-related goals and measure their success. Data & statistics are also used to chart health behaviors, trends and disease prevalence.
-
CDC Wonder
http://wonder.cdc.gov/
Wonder provides a single access point to a variety of reports & numeric public health data. Topics include chronicdiseases, communicable diseases, environmental health, health practice & prevention, injury prevention, and occupational health.
-
Charting Health Information for Texas
http://www.sph.uth.tmc.edu/charting/
A comprehensive collection of links to publicly available health and health determinants data at the geographically local level for the state of Texas. Topics include data for cause of illness or death, maternal & child health, sociodemographic and community characteristics, and environmental and occupational health.
-
Fedstats
http://www.fedstats.gov/
An access portal to statistics collected and published by more than 100 federal agencies without having to know which agency produces them.
-
Statistical Resources on the Web
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/sthealth.html
University of Michigan - Webliography of statistical websites. Topics include abortion, accidents, births, deaths, disability, disease, hazardous substances, health care, insurance, hospitals, mental health, nursing homes, nutrition, occupational safety, pregnancy, risk behaviors, sleep, smoking, substance abuse, and vital statistics.
-
U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/
Useful for deomographic data on national, state and county levels. The site provides direct access to public census data files, special reports, interactive software & mapping tools.
tabid/239/Default.aspx
Results of the 2005 Community Assessment Survey. Topics include health, economics, families and households, and community life.
[To the top]
General Information
-
Guide to Community Preventive Services
http://www.thecommunityguide.org/index.html
The Guide to Community Preventive Services provides evidence-based recommendations and findings about what works to improve public health. It is a free resource provided by the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention and an independent, volunteer Task Force of public health and prevention experts. The Task Force oversees systematic reviews conducted by CDC scientists, then reviews and reports the results. More than 200 interventions have been reviewed to date.
-
HSR Information Central
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/hsrinfo/index.html
An information portal for the health services research community, provided by the National Library of Medicine. Links are selected on the basis of quality, authority of authorship, uniqueness, and appropriateness.
Organizations represented include the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), the National Cancer Institute, AcademyHealth, the Cecil C. Sheps Center for Health Services Research, and the Health Services Research and Development Service (HSR&D) at the Veterans Administration.
-
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health OpenCourseware
http://ocw.jhsph.edu/
Open courseware on a variety of topics including adolescent health, biostatistics, environment, global health, health policy, maternal & child health, nutrition, population science, and refugee health. Courseware includes lecture notes, readings, and power point presentations.
-
Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice, & Policy
http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/
Preventing Chronic Disease (PCD) is a peer-reviewed electronic journal established to provide a forum for public health researchers and practitioners to share study results and practical experience. The journal is published by the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, one of eight centers within the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Research Assistance
-
Ask-a-Librarian
Ask-a-Librarian is an e-mail service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Normally, requests are filled within one working day (Monday through Friday, excluding holidays and other campus closings). Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty; other patrons may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library Reference Office.
- Lewis Library Reference Office - Room LIB-222; 817-735-2070 or 800-687-5302
Librarians are available to provide research assistance between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday-Friday. The office is closed on UNTHSC holidays.
[To the top]
|
|
 |
|
|