Gibson D. Lewis Health Science Library

 Hours  |  Directions/Parking  |  Help/FAQ  |  Forms  |  Policies  |  About Us  |  Contact Us  |  UNTHSC  |  UNT

Today's Hours Are: 7:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Tuesday, May 13, 2008
 

Rural Health

 

Books and Media in Lewis Library
Databases
General Information

Professional Organizations and Associations

Research Assistance

Databases

  • Agricola 
    http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/webvoy.htm
    Created by the National Agricultural Library of the United States, Agricoloa contains records describing publications and resources in agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
  • Clinical Trials
    http://clinicaltrials.gov/

    From the National Library of Medicine, ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. You may also want to learn more about clinical trials.

  • Haz-Map
    http://hazmap.nlm.nih.gov/
    Haz-Map is an occupational toxicology database designed to link jobs to hazardous job tasks which are linked to occupational diseases and their symptoms. It is a relational database of chemicals, jobs and diseases.
  • Household Products Database
    http://hpd.nlm.nih.gov/
    The Household Products Database of the National Library of Medicine is based on the Consumer Product Information Database by DeLima Associates. This database links over 7,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.

  • MEDLINE (PubMed)
    http://www.pubmed.gov
    PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface to MEDLINE and to citations from additional sources.   Unlike Ovid, PubMed is freely available on the web.   In addition to MEDLINE citations from 1966 to the present, over 1.5 million OLDMEDLINE citations, originally printed in hardcopy indexes published from 1953 through 1965, can now be searched through PubMed.  When users access the PubMed interface through the Lewis Library web page, their search results indicate Lewis Library holdings of both print and electronic journals, plus direct linking to selected electronic journal articles. 

http://medlineplus.gov/
Developed by the National Library of Medicine, this patient education site contains a medical dictionary, encyclopedia, interactive tutorials, surgery videos, drug database, and much more.


  • National Ag Safety Database
    http://www.cdc.gov/nasd/index.html

    NASD is a collection of information about health, safety and injury prevention in agriculture. The information in the database was contributed by safety professionals and organizations from across the nation in an effort to promote safety in agriculture.
  • Rural Health Research Gateway
    http://www.ruralhealthresearch.org/
    The Office of Rural Health Policy funds research activities at eight rural health research centers, as well as research conducted by individual investigators at other institutions. This site provides summaries of current and completed research projects and related publications.


[To the top]

General Information

  • AIDSinfo 
    http://aidsinfo.nih.gov/Default.aspx

    AIDSinfo is a U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) project that offers the latest federally approved information on HIV/AIDS clinical research, treatment and prevention, and medical practice guidelines for people living with HIV/AIDS, their families and friends, health care providers, scientists, and researchers.

  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    http://www.cdc.gov/

    The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) serves as the national focus for developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion and health education activities designed to improve the health of the people of the United States.


  • Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services - Rural Health Center http://www.cms.hhs.gov/center/rural.asp
    The Rural Health Clinic (RHC) Program was established in 1977 to address an inadequate supply of physicians who serve Medicare and Medicaid beneficiaries in rural areas. The program provides qualifying Clinics located in rural and medically underserved communities with payment on a cost-related basis for outpatient physician and certain nonphysician services. The website provides dozens of links to resources for enrollment, policies, education, publications, and other organizations.

  • Family Practice Notebook
    http://www.fpnotebook.com/
    This notebook is intended to aid primary care providers in their pursuit of optimal care, well-informed patients, and healthy families. The site is derived from a "peripheral brain" collection of medical notes, and is divided over 4316 topics within  616 chapters and 31 subspecialty books.

  • Farm Family Health and Hazard Surveillance
    http://www2a.cdc.gov/ffhhs/

    The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health Farm Family Health and Hazard Surveillance (FFHHS) Cooperative Agreement Program was developed to respond to Congress's concern that agricultural workers and their families experience a disproportionate share of disease and injury associated with the chemical, biological, physical, ergonomic, and psychological hazards of agriculture.

http://ruralcommittee.hrsa.gov/
Started in 1987, this National Advisory Committee makes recomendations to the Secretary of Health and Human Services on issues regarding the health care problems in rural America.  The site contains publications, meeting information and helpful links.

  • National Agricultural Library 
    http://www.nal.usda.gov/

    The National Agricultural Library is one of four national libraries of the United States, with locations in Beltsville, Maryland and Washington, D.C. It houses one of the world's largest and most accessible agricultural information collections and serves as the nexus for a national network of state land-grant and U.S. Department of Agriculture field libraries.

http://ncmhd.nih.gov/default.html
Part of the National Institutes of Health, the National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NCMHD) conducts and supports research initiatives focusing on eliminating health disparities.  This site contains sections on news, research, events, conferences, and programs.

  • National Farm Medicine Center http://www.marshfieldclinic.org/nfmc/pages/default.aspx

    Established in 1981 in response to occupational health problems seen in farm patients coming to Marshfield Clinic, the NFMC focuses on evolving issues in agricultural health and safety. NFMC goals for the future include expansion of its competency in infectious disease research and rural and agricultural health and safety, as well as becoming an excellent resource for professional training in agromedicine and agriculture-related research.

http://www.nih.gov/
Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the NIH is considered the "primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research." The NIH web site provides access to health information, grants and funding opportunities, latest research information, an events calendar, a photo gallery, links to outreach opportunites, and more.

  • National Rural Recruitment & Retention Network
    www.3rnet.org

    The National Rural Recruitment and Retention Network (3RNet) is made up of organizations such as State Offices of Rural Health, AHECs, Cooperative Agreement Agencies and State Primary Care Associations. These not-for-profit organizations help health professionals locate practice sites in rural and underserved areas throughout the country.


  • Office of Rural Community Affairs 
    http://www.orca.state.tx.us/
    As the state agency dedicated solely to rural Texas, ORCA makes the broad resources of state government more accessible to rural communities. The agency ensures a continuing focus on rural issues, monitors governmental actions affecting rural Texas, researches problems and recommends solutions, and is a coordinator and provider of rural-focused state and federal resources.

[To the top]

  • Rural Assistance Center
    http://www.raconline.org/

    A product of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Rural Initiative, the Rural Assistance Center (RAC) was established as a rural health and human services "information portal." RAC helps rural communities and other rural stakeholders access the full range of available programs, funding, and research that can enable them to provide quality health and human services to rural residents. 


  • Rural Health Policy
    http://www.ruralhealth.hrsa.gov/
    The Office of Rural Health Policy (ORHP) promotes better health care service in rural America. Congress charged the Office with informing and advising the Department of Health and Human Services on matters affecting rural hospitals, and health care, co-ordinating activities within the department that relate to rural health care, and maintaining a national information clearinghouse.

  • Rural Policy Research Institute 
    http://www.rupri.org/

    The Rural Policy Research Institute (RUPRI) provides unbiased analysis and information on the challenges, needs, and opportunities facing rural America. RUPRI’s aim is to spur public dialogue and help policymakers understand the rural impacts of public policies and programs.


  • Texas Department of Agriculture
    www.agr.state.tx.us
    The Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA) is a state agency established by the Texas Legislature in 1907. The mission statement of the Texas Department of Agriculture is: Making Texas the nation's leader in agriculture, while promoting excellence in children's nutrition, rural economic development and providing efficient and extraordinary service.

  • Texas Health and Human Services Commission
    http://www.hhsc.state.tx.us/default.htm

    The Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) provides leadership and direction, and fosters the spirit of innovation needed to achieve an efficient and effective health and human services system for Texans. HHSC oversees the operations of the health and human services system, provides administrative oversight of Texas health and human services programs, and provides direct administration of some programs.


  • Texas Health Match
    http://www.texashealthmatch.com/

    Texas Health Match is a statewide collaborative effort, between the Texas Area Health Education Center (AHEC) and the Office of Rural Community Affairs to assist rural and medically underserved communities recruit and retain healthcare providers, healthcare related professionals, and health industry skilled workers.

  • Texas Rural Hospital Telecommunications Alliance
    http://www.trhta.net/

    The Texas Rural Hospital Telecommunications Alliance was developed and is sponsored by TORCH, Texas Organization of Rural & Community Hospitals. The TRHTA web site provides the community and its members with information and access to resources of the Alliance. Its purpose is to provide a vehicle through which health care organizations may collaborate to improve access to and delivery of health care services utilizing telemedicine and other technology to the fullest potential.


  • Universal Service Administrative Company
    http://www.universalservice.org/rhc/

    The Rural Health Care Program of the Universal Service Fund (USF), which is administered by the Universal Service Administrative Company (USAC), is a support program authorized by Congress and designed by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to provide reduced rates to rural health care providers (HCPs) for telecommunications services and Internet access charges related to the use of telemedicine & tele-health.


  • World Of Rural Medical Education
    http://www.unmc.edu/Community/ruralmeded/

    This site is about change, change that will result in improved health for those in underserved areas, inner city and rural. Effective change will involve several levels, mostly infrastructure areas in education and health. Past wisdom, successful models, and recent research have all demonstrated that we can truly accomplish these goals. This site does not represent the policies of the University of Nebraska Medical Center, the UNMC Department of Family Medicine, the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, or the National Rural Health Association.

[To the top]

Professional Organizations and Associations
  • American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (ACOFP)
    http://www.acofp.org/
    Topics include membership information and the journal archives of the Osteopathic Family Physician News.

  • American Osteopathic Association
    http://www.osteopathic.org/
    The AOA is a member association representing 59,000 osteopathic physicians (D.O.s). The AOA serves as the primary certifying body for D.O.s, and is the accrediting agency for all osteopathic medical colleges and health care facilities. Its mission is to advance the philosophy and practice of osteopathic medicine by promoting excellence in education, research, and the delivery of quality, cost-effective healthcare within a distinct, unified profession.

  • American Red Cross
    http://www.redcross.org/

    The American Red Cross is the nation's premier emergency response organization. As part of a worldwide movement that offers neutral humanitarian care to the victims of war, the American Red Cross also offers compassionate services in five other areas: community services that help the needy; support and comfort for military members and their families; the collection, processing and distribution of lifesaving blood and blood products; educational programs that promote health and safety; and international relief and development programs.

  • National Association of Rural Health Clinics
    http://www.narhc.org/

    The National Association of Rural Health Clinics (NARHC) is the only national organization dedicated exclusively to improving the delivery of quality, cost-effective health care in rural under served areas through the Rural Health Clinics (RHC) Program. NARHC works with Congress, federal agencies, and rural health allies to promote, expand, and protect the RHC Program.
  • Texas Osteopathic Medical Association
    http://www.txosteo.org/

    The Mission of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association is to promote health care excellence for the people of Texas; advance the philosophy and principles of osteopathic medicine; and to loyally embrace the family of the osteopathic profession and serve their unique needs.

  • Texas Rural Health Association
    http://www.trha.org/

    The Texas Rural Health Association is a nonprofit organization whose primary goal is to improve the health of rural Texans. The TRHA is composed of individuals and organizations dedicated to providing leadership on rural health care issues through advocacy, communication, and education.

http://www.txacofp.org/
This site contains resources such as common OMM codes, practice managment tutorials, upcoming classes and other events.

  • World Health Organization
    www.who.int/en/

    WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

[To the top]

Research Assistance
  • Ask-a-Librarian
    Ask-a-Librarian is an email service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty. Other individuals may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library's Reference Office. Normally, requests are filled within one working day on Monday through Friday. Exceptions will be made for holidays and school closings.

  • Lewis Library Reference Office - 817-735-2070
    The reference office is open from 8:00am to 5:00pm, Monday - Friday. The office is closed on school holidays.

 

[To the top]

Home
Search this site