Social & Behavioral Sciences
Books in the Lewis Library - Behavioral Science
Books in the Lewis Library - Social Science
Databases
Fact Sheets / Statistics
General Information
Research Assistance
Databases
-
Academic Search Complete
Full-text articles from over 4,000 peer-reviewed, academic journals in all subject areas. From the early 1990's, some from 1975.
- ClinicalTrials.gov
http://clinicaltrials.gov/
ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
-
EthnoMed
http://ethnomed.org/
From the University of Washington, this site
contains medical and cultural information on immigrant and refugee groups.
-
ETOH Alcohol & Alcohol Problems Science Database
http://etoh.niaaa.nih.gov/
The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) has created this portal to support researchers and practitioners searching for information related to alcohol research. This page includes links to a number of databases, journals, and Web sites focused on alcohol research and related topics.
- Native Health Databases
http://hsc.unm.edu/library/nhd/
The Native Health Databases contain bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
- RAND (Research and Development)
http://www.rand.org/search/pubs_search.html
Topics include child policy, civil justice, education, health, health care, popluation, aging, substance abuse, terrorism and homeland security, and the workforce and workplace.
- Safety Lit
http://safetylit.org/
Injury prevention literature updates from the World Health Organization and the San Diego State University School of Public Health.
[To the top]
Fact Sheets / Statistics
-
US Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/
The latest statistics on people, households, business, industry, hurricane & emergency preparedness. Most statistics by nation, state, county, city or zip code.
[To the top]
General Information
-
Health Communications Activities
http://www.health.gov/communication/
From the US Department of Health & Human Services Office of Disease Prevention & Health Promotion. This site provides links to Healthy People 2010, the Prevention Communications Research Database, consumer & patient education, and information on health literacy improvement.
Office of Minority Health
http://www.omhrc.gov/
From the Department of Health & Human Services, this site covers a variety of health issues, including data & statistics on Africian Americans, American Indians, Alaskian Natives, Asian Americans, Hispanic & Latino populations, and native Hawaiians and other Pacific Islanders.
[To the top]
Research Assistance
-
Ask-a-Librarian
Ask-a-Librarian is an e-mail service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Normally, requests are filled within one working day (Monday through Friday, excluding holidays and other campus closings). Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty; other patrons may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library Reference Office.
- Lewis Library Reference Office - Room LIB-222; 817-735-2070 or 800-687-5302
Librarians are available to provide research assistance between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday-Friday. The office is closed on UNTHSC holidays.
[To the top]
|
|
 |
|
|