Health & Medical Statistics
Statistics by Selected Topics
Accidents, Injuries & Violence
Cancer
Cardiovascular Disease & Stroke
Chronic Respiratory
Diseases
Diabetes
Influenza
Kidney Disease
Obesity
Pneumonia
Septicemia
Research Assistance
Accidents, Injuries & Violence
Topics include accident, fatalities, passenger injury, and destroyed aircraft. Also information regarding air carrier occurrences involving illegal acts.
-
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/acc-inj.htm
Includes the latest statistics on health care use (as a result of accidents or injuries), mortality, and injury fact sheets.
http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/topics/data.html
Topics covered include adult blood lead epidemiology and surveillance, mining data & statistics, pesticide injury & illness, respiratory disease, and traumatic injury.
- Injuries
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/injury.htm
Topics include the latest statistics on morbidity, health care use (as a result of injuries), and mortality.
- Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System (WISQARS)
http://www.cdc.gov/ncipc/wisqars/
WISQARS is an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data. Reports generated include fatal injury reports, leading causes of death reports, years of potential life lost, nonfatal injury reports, and leading causes of nonfatal injury reports.
- Worker Health Chartbook - National Institute for Occupational Safety & Health (NIOSH)
http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/docs/chartbook/
The Worker Health Chartbook 2004 is a descriptive epidemiologic reference on occupational morbidity and mortality in the United States. A resource for agencies, organizations, employers, researchers, workers, and others who need to know about occupational injuries and illnesses, the Chartbook includes more than 400 figures and tables describing the magnitude, distribution, and trends of the Nation’s occupational injuries, illnesses, and fatalities.
- Fatal Facts - Accident Reports - OSHA - US Department of Labor
http://www.osha.gov/OshDoc/toc_FatalFacts.html
Fatal facts available by category and fact number.
The cases here described were selected as being representative of fatalities caused by improper work practices. No special emphasis or priority is implied nor is the case necessarily a recent occurrence.
-
Founded in 1913 and chartered by the U.S. Congress in 1953, the mission of the National Safety Council is to educate and influence people to prevent accidental injury and death. Topics include agriculture safety, driver safety, emergency preparedness, fallin the the home, poison prevention, teen driving, window safety, and workplace safety.
-
http://www.bls.gov/iif/
This site provides data on illnesses and injuries on the job and data on worker fatalities. Statistics are by national or by state.
[To the top]
Cancer
http://www.cancer.org/docroot/STT/stt_0.asp
The ACS tracks cancer occurrence, including the number of deaths, cases, and how long people survive after diagnosis. ACS also tracks data regarding behaviors that influence the risk of developing cancer and the use of screening tests. Statistics are given for years 1997 to present. Cancer data by state is also included.
- Imagins - The Breast Cancer Resource
http://www.imaginis.com/breasthealth/statistics.asp
National, state and worldwide statistics on cases, deaths, incidence by age, ethnic group, staging & survival rates, and mammography.
From the American College of Surgeons. Topics include benchmark reports and case diagnosis by site.
- National Cancer Institute - Statistics Home Page
http://www.cancer.gov/statistics/
Listing of reports and where to find cancer statistics. Also links to the "Dictionary of Cancer Terms" and the "NCI Drug Dictionary".
- National Center for Health Statistics - Cancer Pages
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/cancer.htm
Statistical fact sheet from the CDC. Topics include morbidity, health care use, mortality, incidence rates by sex & race, and survival rates for selected cancer sites.
- SEER Finding Cancer Statistics
http://seer.cancer.gov/statistics/
Interactive website from the National Cancer Institute. It includes fact sheets, faststats, annual reports & monographs, and statistics by state & county.
- State Cancer Profiles
http://statecancerprofiles.cancer.gov/
State cancer profiles from the National Cancer Institute. This is an interactive site that covers rate & trend comparisons, death rates, incidence rates, changes & historical trends, and screening & risk factors.
A source of fact sheets on cancer in the state of Texas.
[To the top]
Cardiovascular Disease & Stroke
-
American Heart Association
http://www.americanheart.org/presenter.jhtml?identifier=1200026
Statistics from the AHA. Topics cover the most recent updates & fact sheets on stroke and heart disease.
- CDC - Centers for Disease Control & Prevention - Heart Disease Facts & Statistics
http://www.cdc.gov/HeartDisease/facts.htm
Heart disease facts and statistics from the CDC. There are links to other online resources and statistical reports.
- National Center for Health Statistics - Cerebrovascular Disease & Stroke
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/stroke.htm
FastStats sheet on the morbidity, health care use, and mortality of stoke and cerebrovascular disease.
- National Center for Health Statistics - Heart Disease
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/heart.htm
FastStats sheet on the morbidity, health care use, and mortality of heart disease.
- National Heart Lung & Blood Institute
http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/about/factbook/chapter4.htm
Statistics from the NHLBI on death rates, prevalence and economic costs of cardiovascular disease.
Chronic Respiratory Diseases
- National Center for Health Statistics - Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD)
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/copd.htm
FastStats from the NCHS on morbidity, health care use, and mortality of COPD.
- MMRW Surveillance Summaries
http://iier.isciii.es/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtml/ss5106a1.htm
Report from the Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Review on COPD Surveillance - United States 1971-2000.
- National Heart Lung & Blood Institute
http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/about/factbook/chapter4.htm
Statistics from the NHLBI on death rates, prevalence and economic costs of COPD.
[To the top]
Diabetes
-
American Diabetes Association - Diabetes Statistics
Statistics from the American Diabetes Association on the prevalence, complications, death rate, economic cost, and national and global fact sheets on diabetes.
Diabetes: Disabling, Deadly, and on the Rise - At A Glance 2006
Document from the CDC outlining the rise of diabetes in America.
Diabetes Statistics and Research
Diabetes statistics from the CDC outlining the prevalence, economic cost, research studies and clinical trials.
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion - Diabetes - Data & Trends
Diabetes statistics from the CDC Diabetes Surveillance System. Topics include prevalence, preventive care, cardiovascular disease amoung people with diabetes, diabetic ketoacidosis, duration of disease, end-stage renal disease, health status & disability, hospitalization, incidence of diabetes, medication use, and risk factors.
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion - Diabetes Maps
Diabetes statistics by state.
National Center for Health Statistics - Diabetes
FastStats from the NCHS outlining the morbidity, health care use, and mortality of diabetes in the United States.
National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse - Diabetes Across the U.S. and in Select Populations
Statistics from the National Institute of Diabetes and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) NIH. Topics covered include prevalence by age and race, death rates and economic costs.
World Health Organization - Diabetes Mellitus
A discussion of diabetes world wide. Fact sheets are included.
Influenza
-
Texas Department of Health and Human Services - Surveillance - Influenza
Statistics for influenza in Texas from 1999-2007.
-
World Health Organization - Influenza
Global statistics on influenza outbreaks.
Kidney Disease
-
American Society of Nephrology - Kidney Disease Facts and Statistics
Fact sheets on kidney disease. Topics include frequently asked questions, facts about kidney disease, diabetes, dialysis, the link between CKD and CVD, obesity and the kidney, stem cells, and transplantation.
FastStats from the NCHS on the morbidity & mortality of kidney disease.
-
National Kidney and Urologic Diseases Information Clearinghouse - Statistics
Statistics on kidney problems, urologic problems and related problems. These statistics include prevalenace, incidence, mortality and economic costs.
http://www.usrds.org/
The United States Renal Data System (USRDS) is a national data system that collects, analyzes, and distributes information about end-stage renal disease (ESRD) in the United States.
Obesity
-
Texas Department of State Health Services - Texas Obesity and Overweight Data
Overweight and obesity data for children, adolescents and adults in the state of Texas.
Pneumonia
-
American Lung Association - Pneumonia Fact Sheet
Fact sheet on the prevalence, death rates, and causes by age, sex, and race.
FastStats from the NCHS on the health care use and mortality of pneumonia in the United States.
-
National Center for Infectious Diseases - Pneumonia
Information from the CDC on different pneumoniae viruses.
-
World Health Organization - Pneumonococcal Infections
Global information on reducing mortality in children with pneumonococcal infections and statistical and information on pneumococcal vaccines.
Septicemia
Facts about sepsis including prevalence and economic costs.
Research Assistance
- Ask-A-Librarian
Ask-a-Librarian is an email service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty. Other individuals may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library's Reference Office. Normally, requests are filled within one working day on Monday through Friday. Exceptions will be made for holidays and school closings.
- Reference Office - 817-735-2070
The reference office is open from 8:00am to 5:00pm, Monday - Friday. The office is closed on school holidays.
|