Aging & Alzheimer's Disease
Databases
- AgeLine Database
http://www.aarp.org/research/ageline/
AgeLine abstracts the literature of social gerontology as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences.
- AgeSource Worldwide
http://www.aarp.org/research/agesource/
AARP's database, AgeSource Worldwide, identifies and provides links to over 300 major or unique libraries, clearinghouses, databases, directories, bibliographies, and Web metasites around the world that focus on aging or closely allied subjects.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) or MEDLINE (PubMed)
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
[To the top]
Factsheets/Statistics
[To the top]
General Information
- Fisher Center for Alzheimer's Research
http://alzinfo.org/
Alzinfo.org is a tool of the Fisher Center for Alzheimer's Research Foundation to educate, engage, and create an online community with access to information and support via online chats, message boards and the most comprehensive resource databases available.
- Medicaid & Medicare
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is the US federal agency that administers Medicare, Medicaid, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program. The website provides information for health professionals, regional governments, and consumers.
-
State of Aging & Health in the United States Report
http://apps.nccd.cdc.gov/saha/
The State of Aging and Health in America report assesses the health status and health behaviors of U.S. adults aged 65 years and older and makes recommendations to improve the mental and physical health of all Americans in their later years.
[To the top]
Professional Organizations
- Alliance for Aging Research
http://www.agingresearch.org/
The Alliance for Aging Research is the nation's leading private, non-profit, citizen advocacy organization for improving the health and independence of Americans as they age, through implementing and advocating programs in research, professional and consumer health education and public policy.
- Alzheimer's Association
http://www.alz.org/
The Alzheimer’s Association, the world leader in Alzheimer research and support, is the first and largest voluntary health organization dedicated to finding prevention methods, treatments and an eventual cure for Alzheimer’s.
- AGS Foundation for Health in Aging
http://www.healthinaging.org/
The American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is a nationwide, not-for-profit association of geriatrics health care professionals, research scientists, and other concerned individuals dedicated to improving the health, independence and quality of life of all older people.
- American Society on Aging
http://www.asaging.org/NCHS/
The ASA offers a diverse array of renowned educational programming, outstanding publications and state-of-the-art information and training resources, and the largest and most dynamic network of professionals in the field of aging.
Research Assistance
-
Ask-a-Librarian
Ask-a-Librarian is an e-mail service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Normally, requests are filled within one working day (Monday through Friday, excluding holidays and other campus closings). Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty; other patrons may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library Reference Office.
- Lewis Library Reference Office - Room LIB-222; 817-735-2070 or 800-687-5302
Librarians are available to provide research assistance between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday-Friday. The office is closed on UNTHSC holidays.
[To the top]
|
|
 |
|
|