Women's Health
Books in the Lewis Library
Databases
General Information
Professional Organizations
Research Assistance
Databases
http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/cgi-bin/sis/htmlgen?LACT
LactMed is a peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
POPLINE (POPulation information onLINE), the world's largest database on reproductive health, provides more than 300,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. Special features include links to free, fulltext documents; the ability to limit your search to peer-reviewed journal articles; and many abstracts in French and Spanish.
-
Women's Health Research Community
http://www.whresearch.org/home/
The WHRC is a database of clinical and basic science investigators and their approved clinical research projects in women's health. This database is a vehicle for investigators to share information with the scientific community and to encourage collaboration in women's health research. Researchers update their records regularly.
Factsheets / Statistics
The CDC/ATSDR Office of Women's Health promotes and improves the health, safety, and quality of life for women. Information offered includes statistics, publications, research, and national programs.
- Office of Women's Health Quick Data Online
http://www.healthstatus2010.com/owh/
The system provides county-level data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and US territories and possessions. Data are available by gender, race and ethnicity and, to the extent possible, age. Data in the system are organized into the following categories with many subcategories under several topics.
- Women's Health USA
http://www.hrsa.gov/WomensHealth
Published by the HRSA, these studies look at emerging issues and trends in women's health, with a focus on racial and ethnic disparities. The publication collects current and historical data on some of the most pressing health challenges facing women, such as teen pregnancy, HIV/AIDS and cancer, and serves as a concise reference for policymakers and program managers.
[To the top]
General Information
The Federal Government Source for Women's Health Information includes links to resources like Dictionaries and Journals, Screenings and Immunizations Schedule, Women's Health Calendar, FAQs, and Health News.
http://www.biomedcentral.com/bmcwomenshealth/
BMC Women's Health is an open access journal publishing original peer-reviewed research articles in all aspects of the prevention, diagnosis and management of gynaecological, fertility, and breast disorders, as well as related molecular genetics, pathophysiology, and epidemiology.
The Elizabeth Wende Breast Clinic is the nation's first freestanding mammography and breast imaging center devoted to breast disease detection and offer online information centers for Breast Health and Diagnostic Exams.
FamilyMedicalNet.com’s proprietary search engine draws only from the thousands of databases compiled by more than 200 agencies, offices, centers, divisions, and departments across the Federal government. The Reference Section has links to sources on everything from procedures to statistics, from glossaries to libraries.
The U.S. FDA's Office of Women's Health addresses gaps in current scientific knowledge, encourages new directions in research, and sets new standards of excellence in women's health.
The Guttmacher Institute is a nonprofit organization focused on sexual and reproductive health research, policy analysis and public education and publishes Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health, International Family Planning Perspectives, The Guttmacher Policy Review and special reports on topics pertaining to sexual and reproductive health and rights.
The HMS Center of Excellence in Women's Health consists of five key programmatic areas of focus: Clinical Services, Research, Health Care Provider Education, Outreach and Consumer Education, and Academic Leadership.
HeartHealthyWomen.org is sponsored by the Cardiovascular Research Foundation and WomenHeart: the National Coalition for Women with Heart Disease and the Office on Women's Health of the Department of Health and Human Services. The online information center provides patients and healthcare professionals with up-to-date information on cardiovascular disease in women.
The Heart Truth is a national awareness and prevention campaign about heart disease in women sponsored by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, part of the National Institutes of Health of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Select “Health Professional Materials” in the right hand column for resources designed specifically for healthcare professionals.
Part of the Johns Hopkins School of Hygiene and Public Health, this site promotes worldwide health communication in the area of reproductive health. Resources include POPLINE, The PopReporter, and Reproductive Health Gateway.
- Journal Watch Women's Health
http://womens-health.jwatch.org/
Edited and reviewed by more than 80 physicians, Journal Watch Women's Health summarizes important medical journal articles about a wide variety of subjects relevant to the medical care of the female patient including breast, cervical, and ovarian cancers, contraception, hormone therapy, IVF, menopause, osteoporosis, and pregnancy.
- KaiserEDU.org Women's Health Policy
http://www.kaiseredu.org/topics.asp?id=72&tuID=35&refID=36&sidenav=251&isID=52
KaiserEDU.org is designed to provide students, faculty and others interested in learning about health policy easy access to the latest data, research, analysis, and developments in health policy. This site includes narrated slide tutorials, background reference libraries, and issue models on current topics and policy debates.
The Maternal and Child Heath Bureau provides national leadership to strengthen the maternal and child health infrastructure and build knowledge and human resources in order to assure continued improvement in the health, safety, and well-being of the maternal and child health population.
http://www.mchlibrary.info/KnowledgePaths/index.html
The MCH Library is a virtual guide that offers a combination of information compiled by library staff and pathways to the best MCH information available on other Web sites, from organizations, and in libraries. The MCH Library maintains this Web site to provide access to key MCH-related data and information.
The NCI Office of Women’s Health collects information and provides a central information resource on NCI research and activities on cancers that affect women solely or have a high impact on women, including statistics and trends in cancer incidence and mortality in women, disease-specific research, and special topics of high priority related to cancers in women.
OBGYN.net has been designed for the specific needs of professionals interested in Obstetrics and Gynecology, the medical industry, and women with the goal to continuously improve services to help in the delivery of Women's Healthcare.
-
Obstetric Ultrasound
http://www.ob-ultrasound.net/
This comprehensive guide to Obstetric/ prenatal ultrasound covers all aspects of sonography in pregnancy and the fetus.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's National Center on Women, Trauma and Violence
http://mentalhealth.samhsa.gov/topics/explore/womenandtrauma/
SAMHSA is the leader in developing and disseminating knowledge about women’s mental health and substance abuse issues. This center was established to develop trauma-informed systems of care to provide mental health services that address the impact of violence and trauma on women.
-
Well Integrated Screening and Evaluation for Women Across the Nation (WISEWOMAN)
http://www.cdc.gov/wisewoman/
Targeted to low-income, under- or uninsured women ages 40 to 64, this program helps them develop lifestyle changes to prevent, delay and control cardiovascular and other chronic diseases, including publications and information for health care professionals.
- Women's Cancers Website
http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/types/womenscancers
This award-winning federal website provides information about treatment, prevention, genetics, screening, clinical trials, literature, research, and statistics for cancers that occur mainly in women, as well as other cancers.
- Women's Health Resources
http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/outreach/womenshealthoverview.html
This resource was created in a partnership between the National Library of Medicine Office of Outreach and Special Populations and the National Institutes of Health Office of Research on Women’s Health. The purpose of this page is to present topics pertaining to women’s health collected by National Library of Medicine information products to support the mission of the Office of Research on Women's Health to promote research in the field. Using the 2008 National Institutes of Health (NIH) Priorities for Women’s Health (PDF, 31 KB), health topics, research initiatives and overarching themes were identified. Within each section you will find a topic with links to resources which were selected based upon their relevance and authority for the specific topic
- WHO Women's Health
http://www.who.int/topics/womens_health/en/
This page provides links to descriptions of activities, reports, news and events, as well as contacts and cooperating partners in the various WHO programmes and offices working on Women's Health. Also shown are links to related web sites and topics.
[To the top]
Professional Organizations
-
The American Pregnancy Association
http://www.americanpregnancy.org/
The American Pregnancy Association is a national health organization committed to promoting reproductive and pregnancy wellness through education, research, advocacy, and community awareness.
-
JHPIEGO
http://www.jhpiego.org/
JHPIEGO, an international health organization affiliated with The Johns Hopkins University, builds global and local partnerships to enhance the quality of health care services for women and families. JHPIEGO's focus is on training and support for health care providers working in limited-resource settings.
-
The National Ovarian Cancer Coalition
http://www.ovarian.org/
The NOCC is committed to raising awareness of ovarian cancer in communities across the country and to providing education, support and hope for women with ovarian cancer and their families. The comprehensive on-line ovarian cancer resource includes clinical trials, research, healthcare professional education, and
-
The North American Menopause Society
http://www.menopause.org/default.htm
The North American Menopause Society is the leading nonprofit scientific organization devoted to promoting women's health and quality of life through an understanding of menopause. This site contains information on menopause, perimenopause, early menopause, menopause symptoms and long-term health effects of estrogen loss.
Research Assistance
- Ask-a-librarian
Ask-a-Librarian is an email service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty. Other individuals may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library's Reference Office. Normally, requests are filled within one working day on Monday through Friday. Exceptions will be made for holidays and school closings.
[To the top]
|