Chemistry
Books and Media in the Lewis Library
Databases
General Information
Professional Organizations
Research Assistance
Databases
-
Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Also included are interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology.
- NIST Scientific and Technical Databases
http://www.nist.gov/srd/index.html
Provides access to the National Institute of Standards and Technology data gateway and SRD (Standard Reference Data) to help chemists identify compounds and unknown substances.
-
Contains the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. PubChem's chemical structure database may be searched on the basis of descriptive terms, chemical properties, and structural similarity.
-
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
-
ScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Elsevier full text journal access.
-
Online version of Chemical Abstracts. Coverage: 1907 - present.
Note: DOWNLOAD REQUIRED - Citrix software must be downloaded to your terminal to access this database. Only 3 simultaneous users may access this database.
-
A cluster of NLM databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.
[To the top]
General Information
Professional Organizations
Research Assistance
-
Ask-a-librarian
Ask-a-Librarian is an email service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty. Other individuals may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library's Reference Office. Normally, requests are filled within one working day on Monday through Friday. Exceptions will be made for holidays and school closings.
-
Lewis Library Reference Office - 817-735-2070
The reference office is open from 8:00am to 5:00pm, Monday - Friday. The office is closed on school holidays.
[To the top]
|