Health Disparities
Databases
Definitions
General Information
Fact Sheets / Reports
Research Assistance
Databases
http://www.apha.org/programs/disparitiesdb/
A database containing projects and interventions that target health disparities. It can be searched by keyword, age group, gender, ethnic/racial group, or state. This database also contains a number of searchable categories including geographic challenges, health literacy, and quality of care.
http://wonder.cdc.gov/data2010/
Accessible through CDC Wonder, DATA2010 contains the most recent data for tracking the 467 objective of Healthy People 2010. Specific populations can be searched and data tables can be exported.
http://www.kidscount.org/sld/index.jsp
Provides state-level data for 111 measures of child well-being including education, health, insurance and poverty. Custom reports can be created. CLIKS: Community Level Information on Kids is also accessible via this web site.
http://www.qualitymeasures.ahrq.gov/
Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, this site provides access to quality measures and measure sets. Users can browse content by several categories including disease/condition, treatment/intervention, measure index and organization. A detailed search can also be performed that focuses on
age range, gender, vulnerable populations, or settings of care. In addition, attributes of two or measure sets can be compared.
http://www.healthstatus2010.com/owh/
This database allows you to search
eleven main categories, including demographics, mortality, natality, reproductive health, violence, prevention, disease and mental health at the state and county level.
http://www.marchofdimes.com/peristats/
Developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center, this site provides access to city, county, state, and national maternal and infant health data. Users are able to download graphs and maps into Power Point Slides.
http://www.qualitytools.ahrq.gov/
QualityTools is sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. It is an online clearinghouse of assessment and measurement tools that focus on the quality of health care. Users can browse by audience such as providers, policymakers, patients and consumers, and payers and purchasers. Detailed searches can also be performed in order to focuse on disease/condition, vulnerable population, organization type, or Institute of Medicine categorizations.
[To the top]
Definitions
http://healthdisparities.nih.gov/whatare.htmlwhatare
This page focuses on the six areas of disparity that President Clinton emphasized in his radio address of February 21, 1998. These are infant mortality, cancer screening and management, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, HIV-AIDS, and immunizations.
http://www.omhrc.gov/templates/browse.aspx?lvl=1&lvlID=6
This page is from the US Department of Health & Human Services, Office of Minority Health. It discusses what health disparities are and what communities, organizations, and the general public are doing to eliminate them.
General Information
http://library.hsc.unt.edu/guides/HealthDisparitiesWebsites.cfm#Health
List of websites suggested by UNTHSC librarians for the study of Health Disparities.
http://library.hsc.unt.edu/guides/HealthDisparitiesWebsites.cfm#Texas
List of websites suggested by UNTHSC librarians for the study of Health Disparities in Texas.
Fact Sheets / Reports
http://www.ahrq.gov/qual/nhdr06/nhdr06.htm
Comprehensive national report that focuses on four areas of quality of care:
effectiveness, patient safety, timeliness, and patient centeredness. The report focuses on 42 core measures of quality and also includes 211 performance measures to examine improvements in health care quality.
http://www.cdc.gov/omh/AMH/dbrf.htm
Contains fact sheets on cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, HIV/AIDS, immunization, infant mortality, mental health, tuberculosis, and lupus.
http://www.healthypeople.gov/Publications/
Links to documents that discuss the goals and objectives of Healthy People 2010.
http://kaisernetwork.org/daily_reports/rep_disparities.cfm
This site provides access to daily and weekly reports on disparity topics including culture-based care, HIV/AIDS, and women's health.
http://www.iom.edu/CMS/2955.aspx
Reports from the Institute of Medicine dating back to 1998.
Research Assistance
- Ask-a-librarian
Ask-a-Librarian is an email service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty. Other individuals may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library's Reference Office. Normally, requests are filled within one working day on Monday through Friday. Exceptions will be made for holidays and school closings.
- Lewis Library Reference Office - 817-735-2070
The reference office is open from 8:00am to 5:00pm, Monday - Friday. The office is closed on school holidays.
- Library Handouts and Tutorials
http://www.library.hsc.unt.edu/Handouts/LibraryHandouts.cfm
Handouts and tutorials for Lewis Library resources including PubMed, Ovid MEDLINE, and RefWorks.
[To the top]
|
|
 |
|
|