Health-Related Images on the Internet
The Internet is a great source of images that can be freely used in educational work. Please be aware that many of the sites listed below may require you to complete a free registration process before allowing use of their images. Each of the sites also offers usage/copyright policies that you should read and follow. Many of them offer free use of images for educational purposes but some require that you ask for permission before using the material.
Databases
Research Assistance
Search Strategies
Databases
- Agricultural Research Service Image Gallery
http://www.ars.usda.gov/is/graphics/photos/
Provided by the United States Department of Agriculture, The ARS Image Gallery is a complimentary source of high quality digital photographs available from the Agricultural Research Service Information Staff. This collection of high quality, free images of animals, plants, and research activity in the lab and field is searchable by category and keyword.
-
Bristol Biomedical Image Archive
http://www.brisbio.ac.uk/
The BioMed Image Archive is an online collection of about 8000 medical, dental, and veterinary images for use in learning, teaching and research. All the images have been donated by academics working in the biomedical fields in different countries. Images can be used free of charge for non-profit educational purposes. See the terms and conditions of use for further information.
-
Duke University Medical Center Library Medical Images
http://www.mclibrary.duke.edu/subject/medimages
The purpose of this subject guide is to provide links to medical image Websites. Please check the usage policies for each site before downloading any images. Free usage of images is allowed on some sites for educational purposes, while others require that you ask permission or pay user registration or fees. Some permit only links to their site and do not allow downloading of images.
-
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
http://www.bartleby.com/107/
The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.
- Health Education Assets Library National Multimedia Repository http://www.healcentral.org
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a digital library that provides freely accessible digital teaching resources of the highest quality that meet the needs of today's health sciences educators and learners.
- HONmedia
http://www.hon.ch/HONmedia/
HONmedia is an unique repository of over 6800 medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes. This peerless database has been created manually by the Health Oon the Net Foundation and new image links are constantly being added from the world-wide Web.
- Images From the History of Medicine
http://wwwihm.nlm.nih.gov/
This system provides access to the nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine.
- inVivo Medical Images http://www.invivo.net/db/links/showLINKS.php?cfg=bge&domains=Medical%20Images
Maintained by a French website, inVivo offers links to over 180 image sites. Listed in alphabetical order, country flags allow you to determine origin and language of site.
- Karolinska Institutet Library, Medical Images and Illustrations
http://www.mic.ki.se/Medimages.html
This page contains links to other pages and sites on the Internet offering biomedically related multimedia material, mostly images (photos, illustrations, etc.). Occasionally, the material may be downloaded and used free of charge. Normally, however, the material is strictly copyrighted, and may be used only after first having obtained explicit permission by the rightful owner.
- Medline Plus Medical Encyclopedia
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/encyclopedia.html
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
- MedPixTM
http://rad.usuhs.edu/medpix/
MedPix is a free, searchable, fully-enabled cross-platform database provided by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics, Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, MD. All cases are peer-reviewed by an editorial board.
- Public Health Image Library
http://phil.cdc.gov/phil/default.asp
Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. Public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public are welcome to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files.
- Visible Human Project
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/research/visible/visible_human.html
The Visible Human Project® is the creation of complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies. Acquisition of transverse CT, MR and cryosection images of representative male and female cadavers has been completed.
- WebPath: The Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education
http://library.med.utah.edu/WebPath/webpath.html
Created by Edward Klatt, MD from the Department of Pathology at the University of Utah. Webpath contains over 1900 images on general, systemic , and AIDS pathology as well as anatomy and histology. This site also contains a case of the week, tutorials, examinations, and lab exercises.
[To the top]
Search Strategies
Most general search engines offer an image searching function. Be aware that these sites may be filtering for objectionable content and that this may limit your retrieval of certain medical images.
[To the top]
Research Assistance
-
Ask-a-librarian
Ask-a-Librarian is an email service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty. Other individuals may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library's Reference Office. Normally, requests are filled within one working day on Monday through Friday. Exceptions will be made for holidays and school closings.
Lewis Library Reference Office - 817-735-2070
The reference office is open from 8:00am to 5:00pm, Monday - Friday. The office is closed on school holidays.
-
[To the top]
|