Gibson D. Lewis Health Science Library

 Hours  |  Directions/Parking  |  Help/FAQ  |  Forms  |  Policies  |  About Us  |  Contact Us  |  UNTHSC  |  UNT

Today's Hours Are: 7:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Tuesday, May 13, 2008
 

Physician Assistant Student Resources

 

Drug Information

Evidence-Based Medicine

Exam Review

History / Physical

Laboratory Tests and Values

Medical Reference

Patient Education

Practice Guidelines

Professional Resources

Research Assistance
Tools You Can Use

 

Drug Information

http://www.prescribingreference.com/

This online tools allows users to search 3000 drug monographs by brand name, generic name, manufacturer, or therapeutic categories. Drug news is also available as well as prescribing notes and clinical charts.

[To the top]

 

Exam Review

[To the top]

History / Physical

[To the top]

 

Laboratory Tests and Values

The Palm OS (Operating System) program for application of the Third Report of the National Cholesterol Education Program (NCEP) Expert Panel on Detection, Evaluation, and Treatment of High Blood Cholesterol in Adults (Adult Treatment Panel III) assists the clinician in implementing the ATP III Cholesterol Guidelines at the point of care; provides normal values for LDL, HDL, triglycerides; risk assessment; and drug treatment.

More than 200 test descriptions, with reference ranges and brief descriptions of conditions. The site is a collaboration of professional societies representing the lab community.


One of the premier clinical resources, MDConsult is a searchable, full-text collection of 40 medical textbooks organized by specialty. Click on the "Drugs" tab to access drug information including indications, contraindications, and adverse reactions.
Login/password required.

[To the top]

Provides the normal test result ranges for blood tests as well as a chart of diagnostic procedures, body areas tested and descriptions.



In the US, most laboratory test results are reported in what are termed conventional units; the rest of the world reports results in Système International d'Unités (SI) or international units (IU). The unit basis for SI is updated periodically by a panel.


[To the top]
Medical Reference


The main sources for Medical dictionary are Stedman’s Medical Dictionary which offers fast and concise information, such as an over-the-counter or prescription medication, a medical abbreviation, or a test procedure, and Dorland's Medical Dictionary which has been the premier dictionary for health care professionals for over 100 years.


  • Interactive Dermatology Atlas
    http://www.dermatlas.net/index.cfm
    The Interactive Dermatology Atlas contains more than 1000 photographs from patient visits over the past two decades. Searches can be performed by diagnosis, lesion characteristics, patient demographics, and treatments. Each image and case is extensively cross-referenced to other images in the atlas.

  • Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education http://library.med.utah.edu/WebPath/webpath.html

    This popular web resource includes over 1900 images along with text, tutorials, laboratory exercises, and examination items for self-assessment that demonstrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings associated with human disease conditions. Hosted by the Department of Pathology at the University of Utah.

  • Martindale's Health Science Guide
    http://www.martindalecenter.com/HSGuide.html

    A compendium of resources in medicine for physicians and medical students that includes case studies, databases, exams, medical dictionaries (in multiple languages), multimedia presentations, online courses, textbooks, and tutorials. Website maintained by Jim Martindale, former cosultant to the University of California, Irvine School of Medicine.

 

http://medlineplus.gov/
Developed by the National Library of Medicine, this patient education site contains a medical dictionary, encyclopedia, interactive tutorials, surgery videos, drug database, and much more.

  • Net Anatomy
    http://www.netanatomy.com/
    NetAnatomy is designed to teach human anatomy to students of the health professions, including undergraduate medical, health sciences, and nursing students. NetAnatomy also serves as a place to review anatomy after one’s initial exposure to the subject, e.g. students beginning a clinical rotation, USMLE (National Board) preparation, etc.

  • OME Online
    http://hal.bim.msu.edu/
    The Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine has developed a family of interactive, competency-based educational moduals that are designed to enable residency trainers to accomplish and validate training requirements using measurable outcomes.

  • STAT!Ref
    https://proxy.hsc.unt.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Default.aspx?grpalias=TEX

    STAT!Ref® online is a cross-searchable, healthcare reference that integrates core titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools. Stedman’s Medical Dictionary and MedCalc 3000 medical calculation utility are included.
    Login/password required.

[To the top]
Patient Education
  • MerckSource
    http://www.mercksource.com/

    MerckSource is an advertising-free general health information portal. It is designed to help patients learn more about their health and chronic conditions and prepare better for office visits. Includes health centers for men, women, children, and caregivers, interactive health tools, health forms for doctor visits, and 3D medical animations.

  • Multilingual Health Information
    http://nnlm.gov/train/chi/multi.html#lang
    The result of a collaboration of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine Consumer Outreach Librarians, this searchable index provides links to health information on the web in a number of languages including Chinese, French, German, Hmong, Russian, Spanish, and many more.

[To the top]

Professional Resources
Tools You Can Use


  • Chris Pratleys' OneNote Blog
    http://blogs.msdn.com/chris_pratley/
    Chris Pratley is one of the founding members of Microsoft’s OneNote development team. His blog contains entries on a wide variety of topics, both OneNote related and not-so-OneNote related. The blog entries and the comments posted to the entries offer insights and help for people who use OneNote.

  • Handheld Devices for Medical Students
    http://www.amsa.org/resource/pda.cfm
    An overview of handheld devices from the American Medical Student Association, with links to relevant software and other online resources.

  • MedCalc 3000
    http://medcalc3000.com/
    MedCalc 3000 is a unique computerized medical reference and tool set. MedCalc 3000 encompasses a wide array of pertinent medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools used every day by clinicians, medical educators, nurses and health care students of all types. Requires paid subscription.

  • Medical Mnemonics
    http://www.medicalmnemonics.com/
    Mnemonics have existed almost as long as the medical knowledge itself. Many of these mnemonics float down from professors, demonstrators or other students. This site serves to expand the circles of sharing/exchange to a larger group worldwide.

  • OneNote Homepage- Microsoft Online
    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/onenote/default.aspx
    The official Microsoft site for OneNote. Gather your information in one place, find what you need fast, and share your notes and information. Get started with the new OneNote. Download it now, test it out in your browser, or purchase.

  • Online Clinical Calculators
    http://www.intmed.mcw.edu/clincalc.html
    From the Medical College of Wisconsin, Division of General Internal Medicine. Website lists links to tools for Bayesian analysis and clinical formulas.

  • PasswordSafe
    http://www.passwordsafe.com/
    PasswordSafe is a secure personal assistant username / password manager. All connections are encrypted, all data is stored encrypted and backed up every 4 hours. This free service works with your browser or their free desktop application, HyperSafe.

  • SUMSearch
    http://sumsearch.uthscsa.edu/
    SUMSearch is an Internet search engine for medical knowledge developed at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. It selects the best resources among several full-text books and biomedical databases for the question, formats the question for each resource, and makes additional searches based on results.

  • Yaps: Yet Another Password Safe http://palmzone.palmgear.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=software.showsoftware&prodID=9923
    Yaps (Yet Another Password Safe) stores your passwords and other confidential information on your Palm, using 256-bit encryption. Access to the safe is password protected with automatic lock-out when the device switches off, or you go to another application. Other features include ease of use, import and export to Memo, masked or hidden records, fully implemented Palm search.

[To the top]

Research Assistance
  • Ask-a-Librarian
    Ask-a-Librarian is an email service from Lewis Library for requesting literature searches, reference information, or assistance in using information resources. Ask-a-Librarian is for the use of UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty. Other individuals may direct inquiries to the Lewis Library's Reference Office. Normally, requests are filled within one working day on Monday through Friday. Exceptions will be made for holidays and school closings.

  • Lewis Library Reference Office - 817-735-2070
    The reference office is open from 8:00am to 5:00pm, Monday - Friday. The office is closed on school holidays.

  • Library Handouts and Tutorials
    http://www.library.hsc.unt.edu/Handouts/LibraryHandouts.cfm
    Handouts and tutorials for Lewis Library resources including PubMed, Ovid MEDLINE, and RefWorks.

[To the top]

 

Home
Search this site