Podcasts on Health and Medicine
General Medical & Biomedical News
- Access Medicine: Produced by McGraw-Hill, this weekly lecture series may include Harrison’s Grand Rounds, Harrison’s Updates, or Hurst’s the Heart Updates.
- AHRQ Healthcare 411 Audio Series: Podcasts by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality featuring current news and information to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care.
- Audio Medica News: Informal interviews with doctors and medical scientists about their latest findings and important clinical trials.
- Biohumanities Podcasts: The University of Queensland, Australia offers talks and discussions on relating biological science and broader humanities and social interests.
- Clinical Pod Cast: News for physicians and discussions with leading researchers and practitioners about the clinical impact of developments in medicine.
- Doctors on Health: Commentary from MedicineNet doctors on current health news, tips and suggestions for doctors, and current medical research.
- FDA Patient Safety News: A video podcast for healthcare personnel featuring information on new drugs, biologics and medical devices, on FDA safety notifications and product recalls, and on ways to protect patients when using medical products.
- The Health Report: Sponsored by the Australian Broadcasting Corporation, this podcast features Dr. Norman Swan discussing health and medicine topics and their social, scientific, and political contexts
- Health WorldNet: A physician-led health information portal, with content for both health professionals and consumers. Professionals have their own lists of podcasts, including one for medical students and residents.
- JAMA: Includes commentaries on each issue of the Journal of the American Medical Association by Editor-in-Chief Catherine D. DeAngelis, MD, MPH.
- Johns Hopkins Podcasts: A weekly 5 to 7 minute program featuring Rick Lange, M.D., chief of clinical cardiology, and Elizabeth Tracey, director of Hopkins Health NewsFeed, discussing current medical news.
- MicrobeWorld Radio: Audio, enhanced audio, and video podcasts produced in association with the American Society for Microbiology.
- Nature: Presented by Chris Smith and Anna Lacey at the University of Cambridge, each show features news and articles published in Nature, including interviews with scientists and commentary and analysis from journalists covering the research.
- New England Journal of Medicine: NEJM sponsors two weekly podcasts, Audio Interviews and NEJM This Week.
- NIH Research Radio: Provides radio stations with the latest information about NIH research findings, highlights of press conferences, and health campaigns.
- Research at Chicago: Reports on research conducted at the University of Chicago in the field of medicine.
- Science: Produced by Science, this occasional podcast offers interesting stories from the journal and its sister sites.
- Scientific American: Produced by Scientific American, this podcast offers interviews with leading scientists and journalists about current science news.
- University of California Television: Audio and video podcasts in the health and medicine fields. Topical browsing and selection from a wide variety of subjects.
Anesthesiology
Cancer
- Leukemia & Lymphoma Society: Podcast of disease teleconferences from the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.
Cardiology
- Access Medicine: Produced by McGraw-Hill, this weekly lecture series may include Harrison’s Grand Rounds, Harrison’s Updates, or Hurst’s the Heart Updates.
- CVMD Podcase: Video and audio blogs produced by the xcardiovascular Multimedia Information Network.
- This Week in Cardiology: Created by Dr. Michael Gibson and Dr. Christopher Cannon, this weekly show includes interviews with cardiologists and discussions of various cardiology topics.
Continuing Education
- As Seen From Here: A CME accredited podcast focusing on issues of importance to ophthalmology and sponsored by the New York University School of Medicine
- ASHP Advantage CE Podcasts: Educational symposia produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
- Audio-Digest Foundation: Fee-based and free clinical lectures. Each MP3cast qualifies for up to 2 hours of Category 1 CME credit/CE credit or contact hours.
- CME Podcasting: Free podcasts of continuing education activities from CME Outfitters
Emergency Medicine
- Jefferson Emergency Medicine: A blog with audio files of emergency medicine lectures
- iCritical Care: Features summaries of articles from Critical Connections, Critical Care Medicine, and Pediatric Critical Care Medicine. Also includes interviews with prominent members of the Critical Care Community.
- University of California Television: Audio and video podcasts on disaster preparedness topics. Produced by the California Preparedness Education Network and the UC Davis Office of Continuing Medical Education specifically for healthcare providers.
- University of Iowa Department of Emergency Medicine: Audio and video podcasts for emergency medicine residents, now provided through iTunes.
Gastroenterology
- The DAVE Project: The Digital Atlas of Video Education is a collection of teaching tools consisting of a gastrointestinal endoscopy video atlas and medical lectures and presentations.
Grand Rounds
- Access Medicine: Produced by McGraw-Hill, this weekly lecture series may include Harrison’s Grand Rounds, Harrison’s Updates, or Hurst’s the Heart Updates.
Journals and Associations
- Anesthesiology Clinics of North America: Summaries and audio excerpts from Elsevier’s Anesthesiology Clinics of North America narrated by Lee A. Fleisher, M.D.
- iCritical Care: Features summaries of articles from Critical Connections, Critical Care Medicine, and Pediatric Critical Care Medicine. Also includes interviews with prominent members of the Critical Care Community.
- JAMA: Includes commentaries on each issue of the Journal of the American Medical Association by Editor-in-Chief Catherine D. DeAngelis, MD, MPH.
- MicrobeWorld Radio: Audio, enhanced audio, and video podcasts produced in association with the American Society for Microbiology.
- Nature: Presented by Chris Smith and Anna Lacey at the University of Cambridge, each show features news and articles published in Nature, including interviews with scientists and commentary and analysis from journalists covering the research.
- New England Journal of Medicine: NEJM sponsors two weekly podcasts, Audio Interviews and NEJM This Week.
- Science: Produced by Science, this occasional podcast offers interesting stories from the journal and its sister sites.
- Scientific American: Produced by Scientific American, this podcast offers interviews with leading scientists and journalists about current science news.
- STAT! The Podcast of Clinical Neurology News: A podcast for neurologists produced by IMNG Publications and sponsored by Ortho-McNeil Neurologics.
Medical Practice Management and Professional Issues
Medical Schools and Refresher Courses
Neurology
Ophthalmology
- As Seen From Here: A CME accredited podcast focusing on issues of importance to ophthalmology and sponsored by the New York University School of Medicine
Osteopathic Medicine
Pediatrics
Pharmacy
Psychology/Psychiatry
- iCube: Issues in Intro: Dr. David B. Miller and some of his students at the University of Connecticut discuss course materials for General Psychology I.
Public Health
- DPH Health Note: Audio programs produced by the
Massachusetts Department of Public Health.
- Milestones in Public Health: Hosted by
Barbara A. DeBuono, MD, MPH,
these programs focus on public-private partnership programs and current research in public health.
- Public Health Grand Rounds Series: Presented by the George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services and sponsored by Pfizer. This monthly lecture series looks at the influence of research findings on health policy decision-making.
- Public Lectures & Public Health Matters: The Public Lectures comprise an extensive archive from the past five years; Public Health Matters features topical programs in video format. Both brought to you by the School of Public Health, University of Minnesota.
- WHO Podcast: Public health information and news from around the world, produced by the World Health Organization.
Radiology
- CTisus-Computed Tomography Podcast: This podcast discusses cutting edge research in CT scanning (computed tomography) and is aimed at radiologists, radiology technologists, and other healthcare professionals. It is produced by the Advanced Medical Imaging Laboratory at Johns Hopkins University.
- Johns Hopkins Radiology Teaching Conferences: Lectures for Johns Hopkins radiology residents are available on iTunes.
Rheumatology
- Rheumatology Radio: Created by Andrea Stancati, this claims to be the first rheumatology podcast. Each podcast also has links to the featured speaker’s publication in PubMed.
Consumer Health Podcasts
- ABC’s Health Report: Sponsored by the Australian Broadcasting Corporation, this podcast features Dr. Norman Swan discussing health and medicine topics and their social, scientific, and political contexts
- All in the Mind: Australian Broadcasting Corporation's Radio National presents a weekly show featuring expert commentary and the latest research on the mind, the brain, and behavior.
- American Health Radio: Daily Health Talk Radio shows include interviews with top doctors, authors, researchers, scientists and other health practitioners for the health conscious consumer. Hosts include Dr. Michael Roizen, M.D., Dr. Derrick DeSilva, M.D. and a variety of other Health Talk personalities.
- American Heart Association Podcasts: AHA’s audio reports on ways to lower risk for cardiovascular disease and stroke.
- Baby Time: Two first-time parents discuss information on babies and their personal experiences through pregnancy onward.
- The Bald Truth with Spencer Kobren: Hair loss prevention and treatment information from founder of The American Hair Loss Association and author of The Bald Truth: The First Complete Guide to Preventing and Treating Hair Loss.
- Beyond the Movement: Pilates teacher Heidi Miller discusses the Pilates Method.
- The Body Odd: MSNBC.com’s biweekly podcast about weird medical questions featuring satirist Mark Leyner and emergency room physician Dr. Billy Goldberg (authors of Why Do Men Have Nipples?) and hosted by health writer and editor Jane Weaver.
- Cancer Connection Podcast Series:
The Siteman Cancer Center produces two podcast series that allow listeners to keep up with the latest information about cancer prevention, treatment and research.
- CancerCast: Cancer specialists Dr. Quinten Black and Dr. John O’Connor discuss cancer diagnosis and treatment information in plain English.
- Dr. Beckham’s Podcast: Podcasts on psychological issues by clinical psychologist, Ed Beckham, Ph.D.
- Dr. Fitness and the Fat Guy: A new approach to losing weight.
- Doctors on Health: Commentary from MedicineNet doctors on current health news, tips and suggestions for doctors, and current medical research. No longer produced; archives only.
- Family Health: A production of the Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine and the Ohio University Center for Public Media: Daily 2 ½ minute programs on common health problems.
- Feeling/Doing: A podcast on mental health and occupational therapy by Fran Babiss, Ph.D. -- none added since May 20, 2006.
- First Aid Pod: Emergency first aid enhanced podcasts with animation, graphics, and audio based on the Beechwood Health Books series.
- First Connection: Podcasts by the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society for patients and their families.
- Food Chain with Michael Olson: The Food Chain, which has been named the Show of the Year by California's legislature, is an audience-interactive program hosted by Michael Olson, author of the Ben Franklin Book of the Year award-winning MetroFarm. It discusses where our food comes from, irradiation, genetic engineering, and more.
- GeekFit: Two geeks discuss fitness and health products and their personal efforts to maintain their health.
- Health Connection Radio with Jay Foster: Information on nutrition.
- Health Edge: A video podcast of medical news from the Cleveland Clinic
- Health Politics with Dr. Mike Magee: Explores a health policy topic every week -- doscontinued, but archives are available.
- Healthcast: A series of podcasts produced by Alan L. Rubin, M.D., endocrinologist and author of Dummies Medical Series.
- Intraspectus Psychotherapy Podcast: Psychotherapist Jeffrey Kerekes specializes in anxiety, depression, and phase of life issues for individuals and couples. His podcasts include one minute tips for listeners and longer interviews with experts and discussions of various mental health issues.
- The Jean Carper Show: Award-winning health and nutrition writer Jean Carper interviews guest experts in the field of nutrition research and presents the latest research on food, supplements, and more.
- Living Healthy: 15-30 minute podcasts on a variety of health issues presented by family physician Dr. Henry Domke -- not updated since August 25, 2007.
- MARINA’s Pandemic Podcasts: Questions and interviews about avian flu pandemic
- Medical Monday: Weekly NPR podcast.
- Mind & Muscle Fitness Show with Phil Kaplan: Addresses fitness and weight loss myths and empowers change in positive ways.
- The Naked Scientists: This group of physicians and researchers from Cambridge University strip science down to its bare essentials.
- Natural Living with Gary Null: This is a podcast of the longest-running, continuously airing talk radio health program in the United States. Mr. Null tries to empower his listeners with life-changing facts that promote wellness.
- NIH Research Radio: Provides radio stations with the latest information about NIH research findings, highlights of press conferences, and health campaigns.
- Northeast Center for Special Care: A monthly podcast on topics related to brain injury, rehabilitation, respiratory issues and more.
- OU Health Matters: Produced by the Oklahoma Medical Center, this podcast includes health news and information for the general public-- not updated since 2008.
- Patient Power with Andrew Schorr: Hosted by Andrew Schorr, the founder of HealthTalk.com, this is a podcast of a radio show that lets callers talk live to medical experts.
- Pediatrics for Parents: Interviews with healthcare professionals and the latest in children’s health research.
- Psychiatric Secrets Revealed with Dr. Mike: Information and interviews with mental health professionals.
- Science Friday: NPR’s weekly discussion of the latest news in science, technology, health, and the environment hosted by Ira Flatow.
- Skin Deep with Dr. Jeannette Martello: Information about plastic surgery such as how to choose a surgeon, skin care, and the mental changes the patient must endure before and after surgery.
- Sound Medicine: Produced by the Indiana University School of Medicine and WFYI Public Radio, this hour-long show educates listeners and encourages them to make sound health decisions.
- Spine & Nerve Health: Dr. Aaron Filler, a neurosurgeon at the Institute for Nerve Medicine in Santa Monica, California, discusses issues surrounding back surgeries to alleviate pain and alternative methods of treatment -- videos.
- University of Michigan Health System: Covers a wide range of health topics and includes podcasts in Spanish and Japanese.
Complementary Medicine Podcasts
- A New Holistic Protocol for the Treatment of Herpes and Cold Sores: Christopher Scipio, an herbalist and homeopath specializing in the holistic treatment of herpes, presents a 30 minute radio interview discussing the use of whole plant botanicals as an alternative therapy for herpes.
- Dr. Bob Martin Show: Includes health questions and comments from callers, breaking health news, and information about nutrition, diet, exercise, vitamin and herbal supplements, homeopathy, and mind-body medicine.
- The Dr. Victor Zeines Show: Holistic dentistry.
- Global Medicine Hunter with Dr. Meg Jordan: Dr. Jordan is a medical anthropologist who travels the globe searching for ancient cures and traditional remedies.
- Healthy by Nature with Martie Whittekin: Hosted by a Certified Clinical Nutritionist, this show features natural options for disease prevention and common sense remedies for existing problems.
- HerbalEd: Medical herbologist Ed Smith presents credible information on the safe and effective use of herbs to promote optimal health and well-being.
- Hypnotherapy Podcast: Certified clinical hypnotherapist Rick Reynolds uses a group hypnotic process called TranceBreakers to free listeners’ minds from negative programming.
- Jonathan Treasure’s Herblog: Medical herbologist Jonathan Treasure presents podcasts of his lectures given at various conferences and symposia -- not updated since 2007.
- The Robin Barbero Show: Discusses the role of the mind in health and healing, creativitiy as it relates to human potential, what we know about the body’s potential for self-healing, how raising consciousness can heal the planet, and how we find greater inspiration and purpose in life.
Non-English Podcasts
Podcast Software & General Links
The first step in receiving a podcast is to install an aggregator or pod receiving software that subscribes you to a podcast feed and downloads files to either your MP3 player or your computer. With some aggregators, you may need to cut and paste the URL for the podcast in yourself. The program will then check the podcast’s website for new files and automatically download them for you. Most aggregator programs are free to use.
Podcast Aggregators
General Podcast Links
Podcast Directories & Search Engines
|