Gibson D. Lewis Health Science Library

 Hours  |  Directions/Parking  |  Help/FAQ  |  Forms  |  Policies  |  About Us  |  Contact Us  |  UNTHSC  |  UNT

Today's Hours Are: 7:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Wednesday, July 09, 2008
 

Databases

A number of literature databases are made available through the Lewis Library.  Besides medicine and health, these databases cover a variety of subject areas, including business, education, science, and general topics. 

Databases are accessible from computers in the library.  Searching assistance is available from the Reference Office during business hours and from the Circulation Desk in the evenings and on weekends.  Remote access to subscription-based resources is restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty and staff.  Click on (Info) next to each database name for content details.

MEDLINE (OvidSP) (Info) Online Catalog (Info)
MEDLINE (PubMed) (Info)

OSTMED.DR (Info)

   

Academic Search Complete (Info)

Journal Citation Reports (Info)
AccessMedicine (Info) LactMed (Info)
ACP Journal Club  (Info) Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (Info)
AGRICOLA (info) Library of Texas (Info)
Alt-Health Watch (Info) MANTIS    (Info)

AMED (Info)

MDConsult (Info)
ArticleFirst  (Info) Natural & Alternative Treatments (Info)
BIOSIS Previews (Info)

Natural Standard (Info)

Business Source Complete (Info) Newspaper Source (Info)
CINAHL  (Info) NextWave (Info)
ClinicalTrials (Info) NLM Catalog (Info)
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials  (Info) NORD Rare Disease Database  (Info)
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Info)

OpenDOAR (Info)

Consumer Health Complete (Info) PapersFirst (Info)
Current Contents--Life Sciences (Info) POPLINE® (Info)
Current Index to Statistics (Info) ProceedingsFirst (Info)

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Info)

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (Info)
Directory of Open Access Journals (Info) PsycINFO (Info)

EconLit  (Info)

Regional Business News (Info)
Engineering Village - Compendex® & Inspec® (Info) Science & Technology Collection (Info)
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) (Info) Science Citation Index (Info)
EXAM MASTER (Info)

ScienceDirect Journals  (Info)

GreenFILE (Info) SciFinder Scholar (Info)

HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) (Info)

Social Sciences Citation Index (Info)
Health & Wellness Resource Center (Info) SPORTDiscus (Info)

Health Reference Center (Info)

STAT!Ref (Info)
Health Source Consumer Edition (Info) TexShare (Info)

Health Source Nursing/Academic (Info)

TOXNET (Info)
HighWire Press   (Info) Web of Knowledge (Info)
IndexCat  (Info) Web of Science  (Info)
InfoTrac Custom Newspapers  (Info) Wiley Interscience  (Info)
International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS)  (Info) WorldCat (Info)
  WorldCat Dissertations & Theses (Info)

Database Descriptions

MEDLINE (OvidSP)

MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains:

  • Bibliographic citations and author abstracts
  • More than 4,600 biomedical journals
  • United States and 70 other countries of publication
  • 11 million+ citations
  • 1966 - present

The OvidSP interface provides quick and easy mapping to appropriate MeSH terms for required topics. Search results may be restricted to "local holdings", print journals subscribed to by Lewis Library. Links to full-text articles in those electronic journals subscribed to by Lewis Library are shown in search results.  Login/password optional.

MEDLINE (PubMed)

MEDLINE on PubMed is the same database found in MEDLINE on OvidSP (see above).  PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface to MEDLINE and to citations from additional sources.   Unlike OvidSP, PubMed is freely available on the web.   In addition to MEDLINE citations from 1966 to the present, over 1.5 million OLDMEDLINE citations, originally printed in hardcopy indexes published from 1953 through 1965, can now be searched through PubMed.  When users access the PubMed interface through the Lewis Library web page, their search results indicate Lewis Library holdings of both print and electronic journals, plus direct linking to selected electronic journal articles.  A PubMed tutorial is available.

Online Catalog

Search the Online Catalog to find listings of the books, journals, media, and computer software in the Lewis Library collection.

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Academic Search Complete

Full-text articles from over 4,000 peer-reviewed, academic journals in all subject areas. From the early 1990's, some from 1975. 

AccessMedicine

An online source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news.  Among the textbooks offered are Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's The Heart, and Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis Of Therapeutics.  Access Medicine also offers USMLEasy, a test preparation tool.

ACP Journal Club

Full-text reviews of clinically-relevant articles published in Evidence Based Medicine (a joint publication of the ACP and the British Medical Journal Group) and ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians--American Society of Internal Medicine. The editors screen the top clinical journals on a regular basis and identify studies that are both methodologically sound and clinically relevant. They write an enhanced abstract of the chosen articles and provide a commentary on the value of the article for clinical practice. 

AGRICOLA

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library of the United States. The records describe publications and resources in agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. 

Alt-Health Watch

This alternative health database provides full text for 180 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.


AMED

The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) is a unique bibliographic database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. It covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, and podiatry from 1985 to present.  Login/password optional.

ArticleFirst

Citations from over 12,000 magazines and serials, covering science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture from 1990 to the present. Users may browse Tables of Contents from individual journal issues.  No full-text; contact the Reference Office for information on obtaining articles. 

BIOSIS Previews

BIOSIS Previews® is the world's most comprehensive reference database for life science research. It covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Also included are interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. 

Business Source Complete

Full-text of nearly 3,000 and indexing of 3,800 scholarly business publications consisting of marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, insurance, and international business. Indexing and abstracts are also available for over 2,680 business journals. Coverage from the early 1990's; includes some PDF files. 

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

Contains more than 2,400 journals in allied health and nursing, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisuals. Besides nursing, subject areas include physician assistant literature, public health, emergency services, medical records, alternative/complementary medicine, social work, and many others. Some articles are available in full text. Coverage from 1982.  Login/password optional.

ClinicalTrials.gov

ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. You may also want to learn more about clinical trials.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials

Part of the Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Collection, CCTR is a bibliographic database of definitive controlled trials, identified by the distinguished contributors to The Cochrane Collaboration. CCTR and other organizations, as part of an international effort to search the world's health care journals systematically, have combined results to create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.  CCTR contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care. Clinical trials identified in MEDLINE, EMBASE, and contributed specialized registers form the CCTR database. Contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration follow quality control standards to ensure that only reports of definite randomized controlled trials or controlled clinical trials are included.

Login/password optional.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Part of the Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Collection, CDSR includes the full-text of the regularly updated systematic reviews prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The Cochrane Collaboration is an international network of individuals and institutions committed to preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic reviews of the effects of health care. Each issue of Cochrane contains new and updated reviews and protocols (in process reviews). Once a review is published it will appear in every issue thereafter.  Login/password optional.

Consumer Health Complete

Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is EBSCO's interface designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. CHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.

Current Contents--Life Sciences

The Life Sciences edition of Current Contents provides access to complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and all other significant items in recently published editions of over 1,370 of the world's leading life sciences journals and books in a broad range of categories. Each weekly publication reproduces the table of contents from scholarly scientific journals from 1998.  Current Contents is produced by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI)

Current Index to Statistics

The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics, probability, and related fields. The on-line CIS Extended Database (CIS-ED) indexes

  • the entire contents of over 160 "core journals", in most cases from 1975 (or first issue if later) to the current end year, and pre-1975 coverage for some,
  • selected articles with statistical content since 1975 from about 1200 additional journals (cumulatively) in related fields, and
  • about 11,000 books in statistics published since 1975.

The Current Index to Statistics is a joint venture of the American Statistical Association and the  Institute of Mathematical Statistics.

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)

Part of the Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Collection, DARE is a full-text database containing critical assessments of systematic reviews from all over the world. It consists of structured abstracts of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals.  Login/password optional.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

DOAJ provides indexing, abstracting, and free full text access for selected international scholarly journals in many subject areas, including agriculture and food science, biology, chemistry, health science, languages and literature, mathematics, physics, engineering, the arts, business, environmental science, history, law, political science, philosophy, religion, and social science. Coverage varies by title (updated continuously). Full text journals available include such titles as The Northstar: a Journal of African American Religious History, the Journal of Applied Science and Bulletin of the World Health Organization - International Journal of Public Health. This database is provided by Lund University Libraries, located in Sweden.

EconLit

EconLit, published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application. Over 80% of all current records include abstracts. Book reviews published in the JEL since 1993 are also included in full-text.

Engineering Village - Compendex® & Inspec®

EV2 provides access to both Compendex (the electronic version of Engineering Index, with abstracts for journal articles and technical literature from 1970-current) and INSPEC (the database for physics, computer science, electrical engineering, & information technology, abstracts from 1969-current.) Look for links to full text articles. EV2 also includes access to the US Patent and Trademark Database (full text is available), EngNetBase (CRC Handbooks for which UNT has not purchased access to full text), and Techstreet Standards (a searchable database for standards and specs but the full text must be paid for separately.)


ERIC (Education Resources Information Center )

A national information system funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences to provide access to education literature and resources. Includes over 1,100 journals and reports in the field of education. Good source of information on medical education, cognition, learning theory, enrollment statistics, etc. Covers literature since 1966. 

EXAM MASTER

EXAM MASTER is an online licensing examination preparatory tool. It offers access to a pool of over 16,000 questions in the basic and clinical sciences and is designed to help individuals prepare for a variety of board and subject exams.  Users can build exams in a variety of medical subjects and work in either a basic study mode or in a timed test mode.  For more information, including detailed sign-up procedures for UNTHSC students, staff, and faculty, please see http://library.hsc.unt.edu/exammaster/.

GreenFILE
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.

HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments)

Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.   Covers 1985 to present. 

Health & Wellness Resource Center

Magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, prescription drugs, etc.  Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases.  Information from 1997. Good source for the layperson.

Health Reference Center

A collection of general interest health, fitness, and medical periodicals, as well as full-text pamphlets; specifically designed for nursing and allied health students and the general public.   Indexing starts at 1996; full-text start dates range from 1996 to the present. 

Health Source Consumer Edition

This database is one of the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 150 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Health Source Nursing/Academic

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.

HighWire Press

A division of the Stanford University Libraries, HighWire Press hosts a repository of high impact, peer-reviewed content, with 1079 journal and 4,552,440 full text articles from over 130 scholarly publishers.

IndexCat

IndexCat™ is the digitized version of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office (Index-Catalogue), in essence the first catalog of the National Library of Medicine®. The catalog was published from 1880-1961 in 5 series in a total of 61 volumes. It reflects the collections owned and transferred to the National Library of Medicine after its creation in 1959.

InfoTrac Custom Newspapers

Full-text for Texas newspapers from Ft. Worth, Dallas, Austin, and Houston; as well as for more than 100 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world.  Includes the NY Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and Christian Science Monitor.   Dates of coverage vary with start dates beginning January of 1996, and a 365 day rolling file for the New York Times. 


International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS)

IBIDS is a database of over 730,000 citations from 1986 to the present on the topic of dietary supplements from four major database sources: biomedical-related articles from MEDLINE, botanical and agricultural science from AGRICOLA, worldwide agricultural literature through AGRIS, and selected nutrition journals from CAB Abstracts and CAB Health. The scope of IBIDS includes the use and function of vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition, the role of nutrient supplementation in metabolism in normal nutrition and disease states, animal studies that relate to the function of dietary supplements in human nutrition, chemical composition, biochemical roles, and antioxidant activity of botanical and nutrient supplements, fortification of foods with supplemental nutrients and health-related effects, nutrient composition of herbal and botanical products, surveys on dietary supplement use by various populations, and the growth and production of herbal and botanical products used as dietary supplements.

Journal Citation Reports

Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource tool that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries.  Includes Impact Factors. 

LactMed
A new edition to the National Library of Medicine's TOXNET system, LactMed is a free online database with information on drugs and lactation. LactMed is geared to healthcare professionals and nursing mothers.  It contains over 450 drug records, a glossary, and web links.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

LISTA was formerly Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA). EBSCO Publishing provides this database with subject coverage that includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. LISTA indexes journal articles from more than 600 publications as well as books, research reports, and conference proceedings. With coverage extending back to 1966, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.


Library of Texas

The Library of Texas is available through the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.  The goal is to provide access to the online catalogs of participating public and academic libraries in Texas.  Searches in the Library of Texas may also include the TexShare databases and appropriate online resources.  Search by words in selected subject areas.  Resource options are customized by your choice of subject area and your geographic location.

MANTIS

MANTIS™ (Manual, Alternative, and Natural Therapy Index System) is a primary health care database which emphasizes health promotion, prevention and conservative care. Periodicals have been included from medical, osteopathic, physical therapy, chiropractic, and other disciplines. Particular emphasis is placed on research relating to the etiology, physiopathology and treatment of neuromusculoskeletal conditions (backache, headache, scoliosis, nerve compression syndromes, sports injuries, etc.).  MANTIS™ contains references from over 700 biomedical publications. Searchable subject headings include standard Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) in addition to a specialized supplemental controlled vocabulary in the areas of alternative medicine.  Coverage is 1880 to present.  Login/password optional.

MDConsult

One of the premier clinical resources, MDConsult is a searchable, full-text collection of 40 medical textbooks organized by specialty, 1,000 practice guidelines, 3,500 patient education handouts, drug information, CME, and news. Articles from over 50 clinical journals are also included.

Login/password required.

Natural & Alternative Treatments

The Natural and Alternative Treatments database was originally created in 1997 to satisfy an ever-growing demand for accurate, unbiased information on natural health. Subsequently, the database has been expanded, refined and updated. It currently consists of over 550 articles as follows: 219 on Herbs and Supplements, 185 on Conditions, 100 on Drug Interaction, 29 on Alternative Therapies and 33 on Homeopathy. These articles are entirely based on double-blind, placebo-controlled studies and other forms of meaningful scientific evidence. At present, more than 12,000 such studies are cited in the material, and new studies are added as they appear.

Natural Standard

A database offering reports from an international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies

Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 25 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

NextWave

A premier resource for scientific research jobs and information to further your scientific career.  The site includes listings for biology jobs, molecular biology jobs, microbiology jobs, biotechnology jobs, cancer research jobs and much more.

NLM Catalog

The NLM (National Library of Medicine) Catalog provides access to NLM bibliographic data for journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, electronic resources and other materials. Links to the library's holdings in LocatorPlus, NLM's online public access catalog, are also provided.

NORD Rare Disease Database

NORD is an authoritative source of information about rare illnesses and syndromes.  It is created by the National Organization for Rare Disorders and provides information about "orphan illnesses," or those conditions that affect fewer than 200,000 people in the United States.

OpenDOAR

The Directory of Open Access Repositories is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories. OpenDOAR lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.

OSTMED.DR

OSTMED.DR® is an osteopathic medicine digital library created by a partnership between Edward Via Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM) and VTLS, Inc. in 2006. OSTMED.DR® builds upon OSTMED®, a bibliographic index to the literature of osteopathic medicine, providing access to citations as well as over 4,000 full text articles from selected resources. OSTMED.DR® aims to provide ready access to the current osteopathic literature and heretofore hard to find resources, including historical documents.

PapersFirst

An index of papers presented at conferences worldwide from 1993 to the present. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. 

POPLINE® (POPulation information onLINE)

The world's largest database on reproductive health, provides more than 300,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.  Numerous special features including free, fulltext documents, and ability to limit to peer-reviewed journal articles.  Excellent source of demographic and public health information, including for developing countries.  POPLINE is maintained by the INFO Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded primarily by the United States Agency for International Development.

ProceedingsFirst

An index of worldwide conference proceedings with citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library. Each record contains a list of the papers presented at that conference. Covers 1993 to present. 

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database providing nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,500 periodicals written in over 35 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 60,000 references are added annually through weekly updates.  Login/password optional.

Regional Business News

Fort Worth Business Press is included in this database, which provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications.  Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.  Updated on a daily basis. 

Science & Technology Collection

Science & Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.

Science Citation Index  (part of the Web of Science)

Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines.  The Science Citation Index Expanded includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Available through Web of Science from 2002 to the present.  The print version is also available in the Lewis Library. 

ScienceDirect Journals

ScienceDirect offers a selection of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online.

  • Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals
  • Hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works
  • Back to volume one, issue one

Social Sciences Citation Index   (part of the Web of Science)

The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Part of Web of Science.

SciFinder Scholar

SciFinder Scholar is the electronic version of Chemical Abstracts. Over 1600 chemistry journals are indexed cover-to-cover and 8,000+ journals are monitored. Records go back to 1907. SciFinder Scholar will connect you to the full text of the articles IF the Library subscribes to the journal. The database is updated daily. Citrix is required to be downloaded for SciFinder to operate. This resource is limited to 3 simultaneous users. 

SPORTDiscus

SPORTDiscus (Sport Information Resource Centre) is a international bibliographic database, covering all aspects of sport, fitness, recreation, and related fields. Articles from more than 2,000 sport-related journals, monographs, book analytics, theses, videotapes, audiotapes, book reviews, websites, and CD-ROMs. SPORTDiscus is indexed using the controlled vocabulary from its unique SIRCThesaurus (6th edition). The majority of the database covers from 1975 to present with comprehensive thesis coverage dating back to 1949; other retrospective coverage (monographs, etc.) dates back to 1609.  Login/password optional.

STAT!Ref

STAT!Ref® online is a cross-searchable, healthcare reference that integrates core titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools. Stedman’s Medical Dictionary and MedCalc 3000 medical calculation utility are included.

TexShare

TexShare is a partnership of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission and academic and public libraries in Texas. This site provides access to all TexShare core academic databases.

TOXNET

The Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the National Library of Medicine's Specialized Information Services is responsible for the Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET®), an integrated system of toxicology and environmental health databases that are available free of charge on the web.

Web of Knowledge

The Web of Knowledge from Thomson Scientific (formerly ISI) is the portal to the company’s scientific literature search products such as BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents, Journal Citation Reports, and the Science Citation Index (i.e, the Web of Science).  You can perform cross-database searching of those resources using the Web of Knowledge interface or you can go directly to the specific tools using the links found on this web page.

Web of Science

Web access to the following citation indexes from 1995 to the present: Science Citation Index; Social Sciences Citation Index; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

WileyInterscience

Source for journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and The Cochrane Library that are included in the WileyInterspace package .

WorldCat

A "national catalog" of books, journals, manuscripts, videotapes, web resources, and other material.  This database is like a combined online catalog of most academic and public libraries in the U.S., with more than 52 million library records.  Users may search WorldCat to locate items not owned by their local libraries or to check references for accuracy.  UNTHSC student, faculty, and staff may order materials not owned by Lewis Library using an online form directed to the library's Interlibrary Loan service. 

WorldCat Dissertations & Theses

This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in libraries around the world. There are over 5 million records in the database.

 

 

Home
Search this site